Let me tell y'all about my weekend


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Yucatán » Merida
April 24th 2007
Published: April 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's still beautiful here. Getting warmer but if you stay out of the direct midday sun you're good.
Humidity is low here and there's always a breeze - well at least since I've been here.

And the breeze was gusting at the beach. Yep. I went back to Progreso. I love it there, too.

Met some folks from Canada that were on vacation and touring the Yucatan. Speaking English!!!!

Sooooooo, I met up with them again on Saturday night and we went out on the town.

Taxied to the downtown area (keep telling y'all there's no where to park), went to the Noche Mexiana
which is a big park / festival area at the end of Paseo de Montejo and watched the performances of
folkdancing. What a show! So colorful and musical !

The we taxied over to Poncho's to eat and watch the wait staff perform with their flaming dishes.

Then on to a coffee shop.

Then a horse drawn carriage ride a little ways up and down the Paseo de Montejo til we took them
back to their hotel and I to my car to come home.

It was great.

They took pictures and they took pictures with my camera too. I'll get them developed before too
long I promise y'all.

Hopefully, they will email me once back home in Canada. They were leaving early Sunday morning for
a 5 hour bus trip to Cancun to take a 5 hour (or maybe it was longer) plane ride to Canada. May have
been longer than that because my little ol' trip to Beaumont is going to take forever.

Speaking of which...... I'm coming home this weekend, but it's going to be brief and for a VERY important
reason. Sofia, Nancy's daughter, is getting married this Saturday. Our baby.

I will also be madly dashing around taking care of business that I didn't think of doing in my haste to
get out of the country and take an opportunity like I've had!

Bless all my friends and especially my wonderful neighbor who have done so much for me in my absence!!
I love y'all !!

And poor Nancy - I haven't been there to help at all with this wedding... Bet she'll make me work on
Saturday beforehand - And I most definitely will !!!

I've been stopped now twice by the police for my driving abilities, but all is good. I will keep y'all in
suspense for a while. I've only been driving here two weeks and once a week isn't bad considering
I HAVE NO CLUE WHERE I AM OR WHICH DIRECTION THE ROAD SHOULD GO DOWN HERE....... don't you think.
At least the last police, knowing I was lost, (and both times I have been really lost), knew two works of English
- Follow me. And they took me back to the avenue!! Grinning the whole time. And no, Nanc, I didn't get out
of the car in my short shorts, but gee I did still have on the bathing suit top rather than a tee...........

Maybe will have some Texas adventures to tell next week when I return.

Everyone have fun!

Patt

Advertisement



25th April 2007

Sounds like fun
Sounds like you're having the time of your life! The shorts probably picked up numerous smiles! keep in touch! LOL
25th April 2007

Develop Pictures ?? Huh?
What.. no digital camera? Com'on lil Sister - it's 2007.
25th April 2007

Develop pictures
I did buy a digital before I left the states, but it won't work. Even the on-line help guys have given up. So I bought throw aways here.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb