First Few Days


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Sinaloa » Mazatlan
August 4th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

Well i made it safe and sound to Mazatlan wich is basically a sauna right now. I met some other canadians coming for exchange at LAX which was a huge and disgustingly crowded airport, so that passed the time. my host family was at the airport waiting for me with a sign, i was pretty pumped about that. The mother speaks no english and neither does the son and I{ve been with them most of the time so I{ve learned a lot already. the dad speaks english quite well and so does the daughter which is good. My room is basically a second tiny house behind the host families, so i have my own room, bathroom, and study area with a desk and such. i think its one of the nicer houses.

yesterday was the longest day of my life. i got here at 6am, then i unpacked and the mom took me on a tour and pointed stuff out in spanish. i had no idea what she was talking about so i just said Si a lot and she seemed happy. then they made a huge breakfast with fresh mangos, pineapple, and a shitload of other stuff. pratt you would die if you saw it. later on i went down to the plaza where there is music and such and met some international students at a little pub. there is quite a few canadians, a girl from vancouver lives about a block away from me. Today me and her went to beach after registering for classes, but we didn{t go to the golden zone so the water was really rough. we both ended up with battle wounds because the shells hit you so fast.....twas a good time. then we headed down to the golden zone to joes oyster bar which i guess is the hot spot for mazatlan. there was drunken tourists everywhere. the golf cart cabs are called pulmonias and you really have to bargain with them because they try to make you pay over double what you end up giving them.

the internet cafe is right down the street from my house so i should be able to check it often. its only 10 pesos for an hour, which is about 1 dollar candian. everything in old mazatlan is much cheaper then the golden zone, there its more than 5 bucks for an hour....suckers. and the Pacifico factory, which makes corona and pacifico cuevasa is here in mazatlan so me and Ilona-the girl from vancouver- each had 2 beers for 3.50 CDN. pretty sweet i know.

i{ll try to post some pictures in the next few days.

sarah

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb