Mazatlan: Land Where American Children go wild


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Sinaloa » Mazatlan
January 11th 2007
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

An appropriate theme for our honeymoon would definitely be "Mule" or “donkey.” In Mazatlan, we took a ferry to a small island off the coast and stayed at a beach for the day. It was a bit overcast, but interesting nonetheless. We spent most of the day lounging by the shore. After lunch we did the next most obvious thing… we took a short excursion riding more donkeys around the island. This time, I had a donkey willing to behave itself.... These donkeys or mules of whatever they are made us sad, though. They just looked overworked and underfed. I wanted to smuggle them off of the island and home to Missouri, but common sense prevailed. How would I get them into my luggage?

The most interesting part of the day was the piñata. I have never found a piñata as fascinating as I did in Mazatlan. It was this purple clown looking thing that functioned more as a sociological experiment than a local form of entertainment. At the end of the day, the tour guides brought a clown piñata for all of the children to break. The strange part was the children were a bit too aggressive with the thing. A bigger kid got it down with one whack and then the other children began just hitting it and clawing at it with their bare hands. It was somewhat disturbing. No. it was extremely disturbing. In the end the children and their parents were heading back to the ship with not only the candy, but pieces of the clown. The big scary kid took its head and it was just sort of bobbing around behind him. I think he threw it off the ferry boat later. Creepy.

For dinner, we made reservations at the beautiful restaurant at the top of the cruise ship. We had some amazing wine and a very satisfying five course meal. The best part of dinner was of course dessert. I ordered this thing that I can only describe as the giant tower of chocolate. What more could a girl want?

All in all, a good day. I saw random children later loitering around the ship with clown body parts. I see clown nightmares in my future…..


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb