Cabo San Lucas


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cabo San Lucas is one of the most beautiful places I have ever visited. We began the day bright and early with a little B and E. Forget brunch. We are more into breaking and entering. We had most of the day free and decided to explore the lavish mansions on the hillside. What we didn’t realize until we got up the first 5 massive hills (I’m talking 60 degree inclines here), was that the community was gated. Not a problem for us! We waited until we saw someone leaving and caught the gate behind her as if we belonged. I think my cute sundress helped 😉 Our explorations led us to some of the most beautiful homes and views I have ever experiences. Perhaps when we win our first multi-million dollar lottery jackpot, we’ll buy in Cabo.

For lunch, we went to the beach and explored the Cabo shoreline. We chose a cute little restaurant on the waterfront that served up the most giant heaping pile of guacamole I had ever seen (since Puerto Vallarta that is). It was so absolutely delicious and the view was unreal. I’m thinking they should relocate the US Navy to Cabo San Lucas so we can live there forever!

In the afternoon, we went on an amazing whale watching adventure. And an adventure it was. We were on another one of those boats that remind me of glorified tubes with a motor. We zipped out of the harbor and past lovers beach to the point where the sea of Cartez and the Pacific Ocean meet. From there we motored out for a few miles to the deeper waters where our great whale friends were waiting. There were at least 2 whales playing in the waters around our boat. They would disappear deep in the ocean and then come to the surface, almost waving at us. It was exhilarating to realize the enormity of these creatures. We could see every bit of them, their eyes, and their scales.

After floating for a bit I started getting extremely seasick. I am confident that the tour guides thought I was just drunk, but I seriously thought I would be happier in the water with the hale than feeling the movement of the ocean beneath me much longer. I did manage to look up from the fetal position long enough to see one of our whale friends emerge from the water and leap through the air. She was completely airborne. I thought that whales only did that in the movies! It was one of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. It definitely made up for the nausea!

We closed the evening with a glorious sunset and, of course, a nap.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb