Sweet Memories of Playa


Advertisement
Published: July 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

"Every good-bye makes the next hello closer".


Well, it's our 14th day here and almost time to say good-bye. Al & I considered staying on after Marth offered to take the girls home; it would be our first vacation alone in years and years and well did I say years? I rubbed my hands in glee till well...till the reality hit that I just could not do that. (No matter how things fell into place to stay). Duty calls. And I thank MJ for offering. A mom's gotta do what a mom's gotta do and that's taking her kids home.

It's all good though. We've had a rocking vacation from A-Z. Home will be a welcome thing when our feet hit inside the front door.

"No one realizes how beautiful it is to travel until he comes home and rests his head on his old, familiar pillow. ~L. Yang

Last night after the whale dive we went out for dinner. We went to Kaan Kab; a restaurant that we haven't tried before. Drinks were good and we had a sampler plate; of tostados, empanadas etc. Let's just say, Al and Marth thought it was pretty good, but for me, well I wouldn't do cartwheels down 5th avenue over it. It's a really nice type of Mayan fusion food and Al loves all Mexican, and Lara has developed a love of it too. I've dang near had my fill of nacho chips and sauce. (the other night at Yaxche they brought out warm rolls and well, then I did cartwheels; it's the Irish in me, bread, bread and more bread). However that being said, Playa is international so you can eat any type of food you like, Italian, Chinese, steak, seafood, sushi, etc.

Today was fun fun fun. We woke, we swam, we went to visit Luis for lunch at Yan Tens (see pic of us with all the staff!), and had drinks and then had fun shopping with the kids. This one store is EXCEPTIONAL and is called Wayan Village. We visit it every time. It's not cheap, but carries hand crafted Mayan items, hand crafted masks, sculptures, outdoor lights, leather items, items that you just can't get anywhere else. It has boutiques within boutiques; it has a health food restaurant and a spa all within it. It's like a maze of beautiful top-notch hoity-toity boutiques that Sussex Drive in Ottawa could not aspire to this . So now I've painted a picture for you...

So at their spa, they offer fish spas. Six of these mini-aquarium tanks with nice seating, all ready to go, in a very high-end spa atmosphere. We researched this, and they have UV lights to ensure there's no contamination going on; these mini foot aquariums are emptied after each person has their spa, and further, there's a system that continues to clean the water about five times an hour. I did my homework before they stuck their feet in there just because there's been controversy over these foot spas. (Frankly people need to be more worried about the "fast food" pedicures and manicures offered at every mall now due to fungal infections (and the rare possibility of staph infections) due to not having time to properly clean their tools. We all need to know how tools are cleaned to protect our health even while having a simple procedure like a manicure...) OK, now that the pedicure police just shut up 😉 we can move on. The risk is SO small for any health issues, so we went for it.

SO you might ask, how the heck do these fish pedicures work? Well they are mini-carp (or nibble fish) that basically nibble the heck out of your feet for about 15 minutes. They have the ability to gently suck away dry, dead skin with their toothless mouths (oh sheesh were you eating right now? So sorry about that 😊 It's a bit ticklish but shortly after you get used to it; and of course this is not painful at all. (That's called waxing; now there's some PAIN haha). So all four girls wanted to try it and wanted me to get this fish pedicure too. SO my response was...are you kidding me? Why would I do that when I have the master pedicurist in the world - yes AL. He's the absolute best guy to give my little feet a rub!!! (So...er, dont' tell Al I told you OK? He wants all that on the down low; so don't go writing "Al gives good food rubs" on any bathroom walls for god sakes). Oh and yes Al did get the fish pedicure too!

So the girls were in the back of this beautiful luxury spa, listening to spa music while meanwhile they plunked Al at the front of their spa at the entrance to the store. He was the source of many questions, comments and curiosity from all the tourists going by! That Al; sheesh first he's diving around Playa, then he's snorkeling with whale sharks, and now it's fish spas. What the hell is coming next? I must brace myself...Other than the attraction of the "fish spa", I don't think Al has ever had a pedicure in his life.

So I browsed this amazing store, overwhelmed with one more beautiful carving, clothes, sculptures after another. I bought a Mayan hand-made mask, a few star lights, a fish carving made out of wood and glass, a hat, jewelry and my favorite; a carving of tortugas (turtles). (I am not a big shopper, but I noticed there was a discussion who first "served" me as I guess commission was involved. I love being fought over! So, to be fair, I told them since a few people helped me, either you share it, or I will divvy up a tip to all. We worked it out but these folks work hard without a big salary so I guess tempers can flare easily.)

Finally the kids joined me with tales of their spa experience; and guess what? THEY LOVED IT. And Al? Well he loved it. Al is a runner; he runs about 6-8 km's a day at work along the parkway when the weather suits. (I'm a runner too; well OK it's my mind that runs constantly. I figure in a day I go about well...er 100 kms and sadly I come right back to where I started). Anyhow, Al said he couldn't believe how soft his feet feel! Let's just say...it was a "swimmingly" good experience!!

So all and all, this trip rocked like all the many trips to Playa before this. Sunny hot skies every day for 14 days, the ocean to greet us daily, swimming pools, lagoons, diving, whale sharks, fish spa, fabulous food and some of the most wonderful people we've ever met that treated us to their hospitality. As I have said before, Mexican people are warm, kind, humorous and proud of their country. GLORIOUS overall. Talk about fun adventures, well...I could go on but frankly you've read it all haven't you?

Will finish with a final blog tomorrow. There's a few of you that I can't wait to see, you old dogs you! No names allowed but you know who you are. CF, JF, S&C, SB, BF, LL, MW, M&J W, CS, SB, DH, MW, DS, DG, DG, MF, SF, D&K K, HM, and the list goes on especially those that took care of the old homestead, Cin, Cory, Susan you guys ROCK. Those that help us get away, that help with our house, bring in our mail, cut the lawn, and who are the foundation that keeps our house on solid ground we appreciate you SO much...Also thank you Peter and Deb for allowing your daughter to come with us on this trip. We really enjoyed having her; hope she had a good time too!

Alrighty, gotta go. Overall I hope I haven't bored the heck out of you all with my many blogs but I have a feeling a little bit of "heck" needed to leave you anyhow 😊 You do know you will miss me when I'm gone...(Blogs that is!)

Well bed is calling me. Where's Al? Al..where are you? Oh he's on the balcony rocking out to the band next door. That man o' mine. 😊

PS thank you staff of Yan Tens; you guys rock, sending you the pics!!! And a bit salud to the staff of Luna. You always treat us like kings and we appreciate it. Hasta la vista baby, we'll be back!

XO


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th July 2012

WOW 14 days surely goes quick! I loved receiving your blog daily and had a blast reading about all the fun things you all did and great food. Thats awesome your friend offered to take the girls home but your so right.... A mom's gotta do what a mom's gotta do, and I sure bet your excited to hit your own bed too. Thanks again for all the awesome updates!
11th July 2012

Sweet memories
It was great; thanks for checking in Leah! Now the not so fun part called packing up and coraling the group to get home!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb