HAPPY CANADA DAY FROM MEXICO EH!


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

HAPPY CANADA DAY EH! I love the Mexican locals who try to be funny always saying "eh" to us! And drum roll please, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO DAD (CLEM, GRANDPA)! This is one of the first years I can remember we aren't spending it with him. But I know he's in good hands as he's visiting my brother Dan and his family at his cottage along with my sister Cin. Love to all of you too. Here's a side pic of Rory & Ava getting their "daytime" Canada attire on!! YAY CANADA our home & native land!

This is a very brief blog (YES they do happen every once in a while so don't hit the floor!) I am sitting on our first floor balcony ovelooking the sea today on Domingo (Sunday) and it's very windy at our local time of 6:21 am. I have to gaze through palm trees to get my view of the waves kissing the shore since we are on the first level now. There are many clouds in the sky today, and as the sun slowly decides to get up out of bed, I notice to my right a bluish/purple haze in the sky that I've not noticed the last few days which may mean no real sunrise today. It's trying to show itself, but I think the clouds win this one today. We have enjoyed absolutely spectacular weather. Not one single ounce of rain since we stepped off the plane. Being right at the ocean, despite the heat and humidity you feel very fresh and almost cool until you walk up to 5th avenue and then your sweat starts sweating!

It is SO quiet, no annoying tourists, no annoying sea gulls, no annoying family members I have to deal with (I mean that with love wink wink). It's been a constant battle to keep sunblock on all of them but specifically Ava and Rory whose faces seem to burn despite being lathered with sunblock. Rory in the few days of being here is so dark; she has always had Al's olive skin tone (not my Irish white-bread look) and just being in the pool and here in general she gets so dark. I can and do tan, but I actually realize as I age makeup can give you the same sun-kissed look for a quarter of the health damage/issues.

To finish this brief blog up (brief...yeah right), last night the kids stayed in the pool till 7:00 PM. We finally dragged them out and decided to return to Le Terraya on the beach; one could consider this restaurant the other hidden gem here; nothing to write home about decorative wise, but hey, you're sitting oceanfront so who cares if it's more of a hole in the wall but they make these super margaritas for $4 CDN and the price of food is darn near a steal. The girls got chicken nuggets for about $1.50 and Kelsey and I had their fresh fish of the day (the family are fishermen and provide the fish). Kelsey had hers breaded and I had mine in a wine sauce, both served with rice & salad and both excellent grouper fish (sheesh I almost wrote "groper" fish; surely you'd have to pay extra to get your fish to "grope" you...sorry I digress! 😊

As we were leaving, we told the waiter we'd be back today (Canada Day to show him our attire) and he said, "Mexican elections; no booze served in Mexico tomorrow.) What? Shut the front door? Did they not know we were coming, and were planning to celebrate Canada Day on 5th avenue showing off our Canadian pride and now we find out we can't get a measly margarita???? That's just plain wrong?! Ray confirmed it when we got home last night and I checked my messages on this site...yep presidential elections. The old saying, "What's a girl gotta do to get a drink around here" will be my motto today. Really I don't care about the drinks, I care more that all our Canadian friends-in-arms will stay in as the party atmosphere will be pretty dry. HOWEVER, so as not to be a negative nelly, Mexico may for the first time in their history elect a female president; the National Action Party voted in Josefine Vazquez Mota as the presidential candidate or "presidenta" -female president. All this is leaving Mexico rather breathless and on its heels. We may witness history being made...all the while wearing our flashing hats!

Off to finish our photo shoot in the last condo. I decorated the balcony table in a "breakfast theme". Take a look, Al & I are working well together; I dream up the concept, he photos & videotapes it.

Will show pics of our attire at one point.

PS now it's our turn to say, "have a drink for us" in case we don't get one...(good I thought to stock the condo with some crushed grapes and a few other choices. Here's a thought...I could sell drinks to beach goers from my balcony!! OK, forget that idea, we all know how that could go off the rails realllly fast!!)

Sal - proud to be "100% made in Canada". See pics below and drop me a line eh 😉


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



3rd July 2012

Pictures
Lovely pictures Sally, especially the beautiful blue chairs "roof dining set up". Not sure if you want to know but with the mojoto drinks, the way you have the drinks placed, you can hardly see them and the drink inside...or maybe I need glasses...lol! Those pina coladas look amazing and soooo good!
3rd July 2012

Drinks
Manon, I agree it was hard to see because the wind was taking the limes & umbrellas away...I had to drink myself to get over all that stress of a photo shoot :)
3rd July 2012

You lucky dogs!!!
Ok enough is enough............. every picture looks so darn nice I feel like hopping on a plane and joining you - you guys sure look like you are having an awesome time Sal- the weather here is really "hot" too but the scenery isn't nothing like yours. Cheers Audrey
3rd July 2012

Canada Day
Ha Audrey! I can see you on your boat floatin' around like nobody's business! I will say this place is unbelievable with colors that are hard to describe in summer...thanks for checking in!
27th November 2012

reading your blogs...
hello Sally; so here I am, in front of my computer, enjoying a glass of white wine in my PA home on the first snowfall of the season... daydreaming of summer vacation in Mexico and came across your blogs for Playa. thank you for your lovely & descriptive writing- I laughed when you wrote "shut the front door", "what's a girl got to do to get a drink around here". very interesting to find that in my previous searching on Playa that I came across the Luna Encantada condos. I will certainly consider them. Planning a family vacation to Playa this summer for 10 family members. will prob need 2 condos- but is very do-able. thanks again. I raise my glass to you- cheers- and will continue reading...
27th November 2012

Mexico
Glad you enjoyed my blogs! Sheesh the way you write, I was sure you were my own sister, who's also named Cindy! I raise myn glass to you too; I will send you an email outside of this blog thread!
28th November 2012

Happy Canada Day
Thanks for the email! You're onto a good thing if you rent via Luna Encantada. We stay there all the time now. I will send you a private email on how to contact the owner of condos there. Thanks!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb