Observations from a Lounger!!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
November 22nd 2011
Published: November 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

"It takes all kinds to make the world go round; though perhaps some shouldn't go quite so far around as others" ~

Some days things can roll off my back; other days things get on my wick, and bad manners get on my wick.

Yesterday I was people watching, in particular a big family hanging out on the beach. Nice enough people, but they were doing a lot of yelling. Not yelling in a mean way, more like, "Hey grab me a beer from the cooler", or "I'll join you in the ocean"...I am convinced many people believe they are alone in this world, and the rest of us occupying loungers a few feet away can't hear YOU when you holler at the top of your lungs. These aren't ornaments hanging off my head, they are perfectly good ears...sheesh.

The young kids in this group, around 8 or 9 years old all had iPods or iPhones texting for a good part of the day. And they were ordering Odin our beach waiter around like a servant. "Odin get me a Sprite now" - not PLEASE but just NOW. And when Odin brought their Sprite, glass of ice etc., they didn't even bother to even look up or to say thanks to him. Odin's English is pretty good, and I'm hoping he was whispering some pretty solid swear words under his breath (because I know I was...grumble grumble). Their sense of "entitlement" was almost too much to bear. Clearly these are kids that no one has ever said NO to. Odin is one of the finest people I've ever met and the effort he puts in to make us tourists find some R&R is above exemplary. I refrained from saying anything because I was also there on behalf of Tonya and her company and it probably wouldn't have looked good with me tustling with a bunch of parents on a beach. I could've taken them though...just saying.

I love my kids; however, that lack of respect those kids showed would NOT go on under my watch or under my nose. There'd be a "please, thank you, you're welcome and blah blah blah". Those kids and adults don't realize in a different world it could easily be Odin lying on that lounger barking for a Sprite and THEY'd be serving him...There but for the grace of God go I...

It made me think of what I was doing at 9 years old, and I can tell you it wasn't lying on a lounger in Mexico being served Sprite and ordering anyone around. In my days you didn't order anyone around, not even your dog or you'd get a swift kick in the butt with a frozen boot. (not literally; it's more that we knew our place, we knew what was acceptable, what kindness & generosity was etc.)

Here are some funny "Things my Mom Taught Me" excerpts that every kid should hear to learn some humility...(smile).

1. My mother taught me RELIGION. "You'd better PRAY that comes out of the carpet.

2. My mother taught me TIME TRAVEL. "If you don't straighten up I'll knock you into next week".

3. My mother taught me LOGIC. "If you fall out of that tree and break your neck you won't be coming to the store with me".

4. My mother taught me IRONY. "Keep crying and I will give you something to cry about".

5. My mother taught me about OSMOSIS. "Shut your mouth & eat your food."

6. My mother taught me about HYPOCRICY. "If I've told you once, I've told you a million times. Don't exaggerate!".

7. My mother taught me about the CIRCLE OF LIFE. "I brought you into this world and I can take you out".

8. My mother taught me ENVY. "There are millions of less fortunate children in this world who don't have wonderful parents like you do."

9. My mother taught me about ANTICIPATION. "Just WAIT till we get home"...

10.My mother taught me HUMOUR. "When that lawnmover cuts off your toes don't come running to me".

And everyone's favorite:

My mother taught me about JUSTICE. "One day you will have kids & I hope they turn out just like YOU".

My "mom" didn't say all of those things, but mom & dad did have many of those funny sayings & many of those you can probably relate to. "Everyone's having a good time till somebody loses an eye"...(right ma)?

"Treat everyone the same, till you find out they're an idiot"...~

Sal




Advertisement



12th January 2012
Life from my lounger...

I though you might like to know...
...this photo is currently featuring on TravelBlogs Front Page. The top rated photos appear for only a few minutes at a time on the top right of the Front Page, so unless you are looking right now, you might not see it there. But, likely since it is now a top rated photo it will appear there again some time. :)
16th January 2012
Life from my lounger...

Thank you Mel!
I just logged on today, so I might've missed my photo! Oh well! Getting ready to gear up for a trip back to Mexico next week. Warming my fingers up for the keyboard, and to share another family trip on Travel Blog! Sally
4th February 2012
Life from my lounger...

Help!
Hi Mel, can you help me? I published a blog 23 hours ago, shows as published but the subscribers haven't gotten it? I moved it to saved, yet it's still not published. I refreshed, used a different computer and still nothing? Both of my recent blogs have taken a long time to publish? Your guidance would be appreciated! Sally

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb