Place of loungers & fun...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Playa del Carmen
January 14th 2011
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

OceanOceanOcean

fun time
Our first official full day in Playa!

Up early to stroll the miles and miles of white sandy beach. Playa is considered having the best beaches in the world, and oh the beautiful blue/turquoise color of the Caribbean is so beautiful & almost hard to describe if you haven't seen it.

It was considered a cool day by Playa standards but for us lily-skinned snowbirds it felt warm enough. The girls played in the ocean, while mom (Sal) enjoyed her first ever margarita at 11 am...like they say, it's noon somewhere in the world!! What I love about Playa is everything is built around 5th avenue (the town) and the ocean with one beautiful restaurant/bar after another, with lounge chairs, beds, lounge beds, great music etc. I LOVE the Mayan people who are so great.. Each bar/restaurant has great service, and I didn't even have to get up from the beach to have Gabino bring me my marg right to the shore while I watched the kids play!!! Hiccup.

Then we strolled into town, one street after another with tourists, shops, dining, you name it. Mom, Marth and Pat had what they would describe as their 'BEST' massage
OceanOceanOcean

drinks served beach style
ever. $30 CDN for one hour....Marth enjoyed her massage from Marcus SO much that I believe she was waiting for him after work...😱 (Martha, stalking is NOT allowed.) 😊

She woke with a big smile this morning...hmmm, I think I will be seeing old Marcus tomorrow (wink wink)...oops, love you Al!!!

We met for lunch at Media Luna after the maitre'd offered me a free drink. "Free drink" I said? What about free drinks for everyone? OK the host said, & so I walked from to our condo & brought back the gang. We enjoyed the BEST shrimp ceviche (to die for), chicken fajitas with rice, guacamole and freshly made tortillas, nachos with beans, chilies and beef. And yes I know you are surprised; the biggest baddest margarita that I was longing for!! Two lads came and sang some great music for us for 50 pesos (around $3.50 Cdn). We met a great couple from New Yawk, and I swear many business deals can be made over one big margarita! I gave them info on our condo, and also passed along my contact here, Tonya Sarina who has been fabulous to deal with & they were quite interested
OceanOceanOcean

YIPEE
in her properties as they are staying at a resort with 2300 rooms. Way too big for their liking. Funny enough Jeff is in real estate in New York & said he should hire me to do his travel! Yes sirreee Bob er...Jeff. (Keep in mind little did I know this little gal from Canada, would indeed get a job with the company I was renting from to do blogging, marketing & lots more. Stay tuned for all of that.)

After lunch we strolled to our beach club and sat on the beach and met Rick from Chicago. He owns one of the top condos on the beach at El Taj, same developer as our condo. Grandma and the girls went with him to play a game called "lighter pickup"...yes lighter pick up. Adults have to bend over with one leg off the ground, no hands and pick up a lighter with their mouth. Could anything be a better sight than these adults who have been drinking in the sun all day? Now despite having a drink or two in me, NO I did not let the girls do that with their mouths? What kind of parent would I
OceanOceanOcean

Wickys bar
be? So I told them they could play if they used their own straw & of course they did amazing; especially Ava! It pays to be so close to the ground since she's all of 6 years of age.

Mom and I sat cuddled under a palm tree enjoying the sights, and me listening to what I call are "golden nuggets"... Golden nuggets mean little tidbits of information about her life I did not know. Mom doesn't realize what a great story teller she is. I suppose after living with Dad, one of THE greatest storyteller of all time, like the way he can remember everything from his childhood on and recite them with such humor and insight that you feel you are there with him, that she perhaps doesn't realize the gift of gab & insight she has. Mom loved every minute of the beach, & even didn't hear the pounding music they put on for the happy hour crowd. She was so relaxed & happy to be back in this paradise & that made my day (Mom had traveled to this area with us for our wedding in 2008, and our vacation to a villa in 2010.)
OceanOceanOcean

lounge queens
Pat (grandma) spent time with the girls at the ocean, and altogether it was as they say a 'banner' day.

We ate a great homemade dinner of honey/cilantro chicken with fresh garlic shrimp with a creamy tomato sauce with a side of pasta. Despite the glow we (Marth and I had) we didn't do too bad! We ate and watched Despicable Me... (I don't mean ME, I meant the movie!!)

All in all, what a great day spent with family...the gravy on top was the sun, the fun, great food and the beach.

PS we ended the night about midnight with a walk to the pool and an hour in the hot tub with grandma (Pat, Sal, Lara & Marth!)

Hemos sido bendecidos con tanto (we are blessed with so much!)

Sal and amigos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

OceanOcean
Ocean

Loungers
OceanOcean
Ocean

beds
oceanocean
ocean

swing at the bar
OceanOcean
Ocean

girl with parrots (for Blaine!)
PlayaPlaya
Playa

5th avenue
Playa foodPlaya food
Playa food

Homemade dinner!
Playa foodPlaya food
Playa food

Fahitas
PlayaPlaya
Playa

Where Al & I dined on our honeymoon!
PlayaPlaya
Playa

posing
Playa foodPlaya food
Playa food

ceviche
PlayaPlaya
Playa

Posing with Pancho Villa???
Playa 5thPlaya 5th
Playa 5th

lunch in town
PlayaPlaya
Playa

bird man
OceanOcean
Ocean

Indigo beach club


15th January 2011

The food and drink blog
After reading this blog and viewing all the great pictures I can only conclude that that main theme of the day was lots of good food and yummy drinks. I guess Pat doesn't feel bad about canceling her massage appointment in Calgary Wednesday.
15th January 2011

Livin it up large
Could it possibly get any more decadent than it already is?? Be careful, if you rub it in too much, we'll dump all our snow from today at your place! Yup, revel in it while you can -- it sounds like everyone is having a great time. Have a marg or two for me. Hablamos mas tarde chica!
18th January 2011

Hahahaha! What a great picture, looks like you guys are having lots of fun :) Wish I was there :(

Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 116; dbt: 0.2255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb