We made it!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca
January 6th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am in Oaxaca! Phew! What a crazy day. Almost didn’t leave Canada, sprinted to 3 different planes and don’t have any of my luggage! We are off to an amazing start!
In Ottawa there were issues with not having a return ticket – something that we checked on in depth – but apparently got slews of misinformation. Leah and I ended up having to purchase and entire new ticket this morning! (Thankfully its refundable and once everything is worked out, we should be good to go!) So after this mishap and a WAY too quick goodbye to the people who mean soooo much to me, we were sprinting to our first plane. Well, the plane ended up being delayed once we got on it. They had a crew member change up. How lame is that! And then we went and got the plane spayed! So needless to say, we got to Montreal about a half hour late. And then we had to go get our tickets from the AeroMexico counter and then pass through security again. Well, we got to the counter and the guy told us that the plane was already closed! And that boarding was at 7:35 (at this point it was 7:20 haha) Anyways, he issued our tickets and through security we went. That part was actually fine. We had the most light-hearted French Canadian security checking people. Weird, eh? Then there was another run. Our terminal was the last stinking one - so we sprinted through the airport…again. We made the plane and left for Mexico City.
Mexico City was a gong show. We ended up having to clear customs, claim our bags and put them on the next flight. We had 2 hours to get all this done. It was so stressful. We finally made it through the baggage check and over to send them off to the plane about 20 minutes before we were supposed to depart. The guy there was really nice and said we would have to run and told us exactly where to go - so we made it...but our bags didn't. Gah! Good thing I packed a change of clothes in my carry-on. It sucks thats there's no pjs though.
On a totally different note, the people at the home seem awesome. Janelle and Jill both came and picked us up at the airport. Janelle has been the director of the Oaxaca home for the last 2 years now – and I can see us getting along well. I guess the home has been in need of people to fill the positions Leah and I are taking on for about a year and a half to two years, so it is a big answer to prayer and theyre excited to have us. Yay.
Leah and I are sharing a room in the visitor’s housing. It’s actually pretty nice. It’s not huge – but it will definitely work. Especially once we have our luggage back! We made up our beds and got settled in our rooms – seeing as Leah and I are both totally wiped. I opened my laptop to turn on some music and found out that the visitor’s center has its own wireless access! So we have internet in the rooms. That’s definitely a perk!
So I would say the day had its ups and downs…but I am really excited for what is to come. The kids at the home seem fantastic. I went to get some water earlier and got swarmed by a bunch of girls around the age of 8. They were so cute…grabbed my hand and started talking in Spanish. I did my best to keep up…and managed to ask them where to get water. They took me into their common room and showed me their “casa” and helped me get some water for the night. I’m excited to get to know the kids better and to keep learning more Spanish so I can keep up! Haha. There are definitely going to be a lot of challenges this year, but I am looking forward to seeing the outcomes!


Advertisement



7th January 2011

Phew!
What a long night and day!! We are so glad that you and Leah are there safe! We miss you like crazy already but are super excited about what you'll be doing! We're also thrilled to hear that you have the internet so accessible- YAY! Love you tons!
7th January 2011

Phew!
Hi Jess (and Leah!) I'm so happy to hear that you made it safe and sound. I'm sorry it wasn't a very smooth start. At least you know your bags are in Mexico, and hopefully they'll show up soon. If not, I'll send you some pyjamas! Looking forward to hearing about more of your adventures... ~Marnie
7th January 2011

oh honey! what a comedy of errors already! good thing you can handle anything!!! maybe God was just testing your stamina???? anyways glad it all worked out and worse case scenario? if you don't get your luggage....hmmm? it is -8 here today and feels like -40! Even the puppies had a hard time out there....28 sounds sooooooooooo much better! did your camera come with you or is it in your luggage? can't wait to see pictures. tell Leah I will have a nice supply of corks for her by the time she comes home...every time I open a bottle of wine now and put the cork away I think of her and will send up a prayer (good baptist that I am! DRINKING AND PRAYING AT THE SAME TIME!) LOVE YOU JESS!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb