ONWARD!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
March 24th 2005
Published: March 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

In HammocktownIn HammocktownIn Hammocktown

Jo and Jerome be gettin they vitamins
yes, Onward!

Its been a week and a half here, and despite all the friendly faces, the most bee you teeful beach, and mochos cervezas, its time to go.

A new phase begins, as my brother takes off for Los Angeles. My cloudy head has cleared up a lot, and I'm feeling just great. I've typing typing typing, trying to stay connected with freinds and family through these computer things, and I'm looking forward to a week or so without no more...

So, some of the most memorable things about Puerto Escondido...

1 Learning to surf! Who woulda that an ex skateboarder, ex snowboarder could teach himself to ride the waves? Its true! Its true! It took for days of paddling to get used to the board, to the water. I started catching waves and surfing on my stomach, leaning to on side or the other to steer clear of rocks, and other surfers. By the last two days, I was catching the waves, standing up, cruising on in to the beach, dropping to my stomach and paddling right back out. I thought I might buy a board and live the life for another couple weeks, but I've decided against it...I'm a little tight on funds, and time.

2 Hammocktown.... as the hostel shalom filled up with Mexican vacationers, a line of trees outside the big dorm became quite a cosy home. With a candle in the middle, tents and surfboards for additional seating, drinks, smokes and laughs were shared quite liberally. The place is pretty much filled to capacity right now, so we were welcoming new settlers to hammocktown all week. I'll miss it.

3 sorry, can't think of three right now...

The plan for now is to run wild with the moon in Zipolite, hasta luego!




Advertisement



25th March 2005

travellin with my bro......
wow, what a trip this has been for me so far. charlie and i started with taking a bus to texas and then began our journey through mexico starting in matamoros. my most memorable times had to be relaxing with pete and beth, and meeting some australians, an irishmen and an astonian in acapulco. but for me, the conclusion of my mexican tour in puerto escondido was by far the most fun. hammolk town, as charlie mentioned, was a great way to meet tons of people from all over the globe. we developed a crew of about 12 people from about 8 different countries acroos the global continents. i felt a little sad about leaving what seemed to be the garden of eden, as i am in L.A. now, but my travels must continue. i am very happy with how the entire trip panned out, and charlie, it was a lot of fun hangin around with you for those 5 weeks. you are an inspiration for travel and you lead an examplierary (thats not how you spell it i know) lifestyle of freedom. for me, its off to seattle today to visit a friend then over to vancouver to see some family, although my mind is still at the beatiful beaches of puerto escondido. anyways its time for me to sign off, charlie i'm going to miss you. safe travels and stay cool.......... until next time...........love matt - matt

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb