Everything changes


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Muchos holas a todo el mundo, life is good and don't let anyone tell you otherwise. Everything changes, and if you pick the right position, its easy to just kinda flow, ya know? yeah. So I've returned to city life. People in the streets, multi-culturalisms, markets and really good live music. I know my life will be a mix of the urban and the rural, as I miss each so much when I'm away too long...

San Cristobal de Las Casas - Its a real crossroads here. It's reletively equidistant to the Yucutan Peninsula, the South Pacific Coast of Mexico, the Mayan riviera that stretches into Guatemala and Belize, and a kind of base of support for a variety of neighbouring indigenous populations, including the autonomous Zapatista communities to the south.

How'd I get here?

I stayed in Zipolite for three days, thinking I might surf surf and more surf. If I'd gone somewhere else, I might have. Without waves, I got really bored of doing nothing but the beach, and went back to my original plan. I travelled by collectivo taxi and 1st class bus last Easter Sunday. Pochutla is kind of a hub for travel in and out of Zipolite and nearby beach spots, and I got stuck there for ten hours. The early bus was sold out, and I got the last seat on the overnight. My Easter Dinner consisted of about six beers and five tacos, pollo y carne, no hay vegetariano en el mas proxima taquerria. Coulda been worse.

And back to San Cristo - I slept alright on the bus, and I was just bursting with smiles to see a bustling city. I walked through downtown to the best and cheapest place my trusty guidebook recommended. I made myself at home and went back out to wander the streets.

Spanish lessons are a little out of my budget, but I've fully realized that it'll take a little more than casual conversation to pick up a new tongue. And so, "Spanish: The Easy Way", 195 pesos for 400 plus pages of la gramatica, vocabulario, ejercicios, y muchos mas. I'll let you know how it goes.

But the biggest change on the horizon: Why not bike to B.C. ? ? ?

My dwindling dineros and unfulfilled ambitions have got me thinking on a whole new train. I've decided to spend the next three days "meditating" on the decision. If I go for it, I'll load a mountain bike with water, a tarp, a big ass hammock, my Spanish textbook, some rice and beans, tools, tubes and plenty of patches.

Why?

Basically, I spent too much time and money on the beach. As my dad recently wrote, no regrets. Its just that I haven't learned as much Spanish as I was hoping to, I haven't made real connections to the cultures and geographies I've passed through, and I haven't met the love of my life. I've got time, good health, friendly spirit up to here, and a slightly mad shine in my eyes. How could I possibly leave so quickly, with so much left to do?

Plan B is to take up Mom's offer of transportation to B.C., bunk up with Uncle Mike in Vancouver and find me a job!

What would you choose?

I'll be here for three more days, "meditatin'", and would love to hear your thoughts. Hasta tardes...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0797s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb