Oaxaca 2013 with Donzetta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
February 18th 2013
Published: February 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Oaxaca location


La guia y el grupoLa guia y el grupoLa guia y el grupo

This is the group that went on tour (minus me).
This will be my first blog entry for 2013. Already, I have done some very exciting things. I unpacked when I arrived Wednesday night. (This part was not so exciting.) Thursday morning I was tired so I slept in and made contact by e-mail with the school and the clinic. On Friday I went to the school to enroll in my classes. It was so good to see all of the staff and teachers. I decided to take a tour on Saturday with EnVia, the mico-economic organization associated with the school. We first went to a town that is new to their program. It was very isolated and very agricultural. The women there take out loans to set up businesses in order to supplement their husbands' incomes which are very low from their hard work of farming. We then went to Teotitlan, which is the first pueblo to be involved with EnVia. There are almost 200 women there that have set up businesses through loans from EnVia. Each women has a different story. We heard the story of 3 of these women on Saturday. They were amazing. Many of these women are very savvy business persons. They were just missing the
La FamiliaLa FamiliaLa Familia

This is some of the family. They work together in the business.
financing and some rules of business.

I met a couple of people on the tour that will be volunteering for EnVia. John who was a corporate attorney in New York handled the legal financing rules for large corporations in New York. He is taking time out from corporate America to put his skills to work helping EnVia with it's financing rules. Julia, who is from Munich Germany, is now teaching kids in Teotitlan to speak English. She will soon start leading tours for EnVia.

EnVia is a marvelous organization. I will share somethings with you, however to learn more go to their website which is EnVia.org.

On Sunday I went to mass in a church that borders the park. That morning they were having exercise classes in the park. After mass I took some videos. Hopefully I can upload one and you can see the large number of people in the park doing exercises. Later I did my normal Sunday past time of stopping to have a cone of nieve and listening to the band in the Zocalo. I will try to upload one of the videos. The music was marvelous. After listening to the music I
Burning wood for baskets169Burning wood for baskets169Burning wood for baskets169

This man is burning bamboo to make it suitable to make baskets.
went to the mercado (veinte de noviembre) to buy a large green pottery "olla" in which to cook my meal of vegetables for the week and then I went back to the posada (home).

What a marvelous few days!

P.S. - I won't be able to upload videos. The website has disabled it's video uploading until it can get some issues resolved...sorry :-(., however I did upload a map of my location in Oaxaca. So many people have asked about the location :-).


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Territorial PavoTerritorial Pavo
Territorial Pavo

This turkey was very unhappy that we entered his territory. We had to keep our distance
La guia del tour y la chica de alemaniaLa guia del tour y la chica de alemania
La guia del tour y la chica de alemania

This is Kim our tour guide (L) and Julia from Germany. Julia likes the animals.
La vaca para hacer quesoLa vaca para hacer queso
La vaca para hacer queso

This is the cow that gives the milk to make the cheese that the Sra. sells.
Adios del grupo de tourAdios del grupo de tour
Adios del grupo de tour

This is everyone but Emily (from Scotland) as we are leaving.
Adios pueblitoAdios pueblito
Adios pueblito

This is our parting view of the little town.
Hola TeotitlanHola Teotitlan
Hola Teotitlan

This is the other town that we toured. They were the first town in the EnVia micro loan project.
Las mujeres de la iglesia en TeotitlanLas mujeres de la iglesia en Teotitlan
Las mujeres de la iglesia en Teotitlan

These are the women of the church in Teotitlan. They are lining up to salute the men of the church.
Mujer muy importanteMujer muy importante
Mujer muy importante

This is one of the more important businesswomen of Teotitlan at her weaving loom.
Los tapetesLos tapetes
Los tapetes

These are some of the tapetes that she has woven on her loom.
La segunda mujer en TeotitlanLa segunda mujer en Teotitlan
La segunda mujer en Teotitlan

This lady works very hard to send her sons to school, one of whom wants to be a doctor. Her husband drinks a lot.
Muchas bolsasMuchas bolsas
Muchas bolsas

These are many of the purses that the lady makes. The yarns are dyed with natual dyes. She walks 11/2 hrs one way to harvest the cochineal for dye.
Los meseros en VIPsLos meseros en VIPs
Los meseros en VIPs

These were the servers at the VIP restaurant where I went to breakfast after going to mass and to the park.
La mesera para mi en VIPsLa mesera para mi en VIPs
La mesera para mi en VIPs

This was my server at VIPs
Una familia en VIPsUna familia en VIPs
Una familia en VIPs

This was an extended family at Sunday breakfast. VIPs is a very american style restaurant.
La banda en el ZocaloLa banda en el Zocalo
La banda en el Zocalo

This was the band at the Zocalo on Sunday. The bands are sponsored by the government.


19th February 2013

Saludos
I am so glad to receive the information you that are sharing with us, which is very kind of you. I do appreciate your comments and your impressions. Un abrazo. Marcelino
20th February 2013

Hola Marcelino
Estoy muy contenta que tu disfrutes mi blog. Aprecio mucho tus comentarios. Favor de continuar. Tu amiga, Donzetta
19th February 2013

Te Extranamos amiga
Espero que te la estes pasando super bien... Todo se ve hermoso me encantaria ir a conoser y llevar a mis ninas... te queremos mucho donzetta no olvides mi boda el 29 de Junio :) bueno si es que no te casas tu aya antes :) hahahaha
20th February 2013

Otra vez Veronica
Hay un problema con la respuesta anterior. Quizas puede recibir las dos respuestas. Yo te extrano mucho. Quiero que tu y tus hijas puedan estar aqui tambien. Hasta el tiempo que viene. Tu amiga siempre, Donzetta
20th February 2013

Hola Veronica
Espero que tu recibas esta mensaje bien. He tenido problemas con enviarla. Yo extrano mucho y quiero que tu y sus hijas pueden visitar aqui alguna vez. Tu amiga siempre, Donzetta
19th February 2013

Wow!
Auntie D: As always, I am so excited to read the blog and see the pictures. I am glad you having such a good time. Espero que todos esten bien contigo. Still working on my spanish. LOL. Look forward to the next post. Enjoy. Traci.
20th February 2013

Hola Traci
Tu espanol es muy bueno!! especialmente el subjuntivo, el cual es muy dificil. Recibio mi correo electronico anteriormente? Translation: Your spanish is very good!! especially the subjuntive which is very difficult. Did you receive my previous e-mail? (It was in spanish.) Tu hermana siempre, Donzetta
19th February 2013

Beautiful pics
Hi Donzeta, I'm envious of the places that you are visiting, but you have to write all this info in Spanish so you get more out of your trip don't you think? But this is beautifull no doubth abou it, enjoy it as much as you can keep in touch, thanks for sending it.
20th February 2013

Hola, Margarita
Voy a enviar todas mis repuestas a ti en espanol. Casi todos los otros no entienden espanol, entonces necesito escribir en ingles. Gracias por escribirme. Tu hermana en Cristo, Donzetta
19th February 2013

Good Morning Donzetta
Donzetta, thank you for sharing this trip with us! It looks as though you are off to a fun and good start. I admire you for your courage and strength to do something like this. you are a role modle to so many including me! I am looking forward to keeping up with you on this trip. Be safe, Love, Cindy
20th February 2013

Buenos Dias Cindi
I am so glad that you are enjoying the blog and I do appreciate your feedback. It is very encouraging to me. Donzetta
19th February 2013

I testing to see if I am sending my reply the right way. You know I am use to the reply botton (smile). Thank you for sharing with me about all the beautiful experiences you have had thus far on your trip. All the pictures are so nice, it is almost as if I was there with you. You know it is so amazing, when God gives you something to do that it comes so natural. You sound so nataural in sharing, as if it is just a part of you. I am so happy to hear that you passed your test with high scores. I am going to keep in touch with you and keep you informed about things that are going on in Big Tulsa (LOL). Until the next time I write, continue to enjoy your trip and the Lord, and I will keep praying for you, your classmates, your school, and the needs of the people in Mexico. Be safe and God continue to bless!
20th February 2013

Thank you so much
Shirley, I appreciate so much your feedback and your prayers for all of us here. I look forward to hearing from you. Donzetta
21st February 2013

Way to go
Donzetta, I am thrilled that you are getting to do this and I want to hear all about your adventures. I will be leaving for Alaska the first week of June and I too plan to be gone about 4 months. I will do my blog then. What fun this is. Be safe and have fun. Sandra B
23rd February 2013

Hi Sandra
I am glad to hear from you and to hear that you are going to Alaska. I met a girl hear from the wilderness in Alaska. I told her about you. Please send me your e-mail address (will you be accessible by e-mail?) and I will give it to her. Perhaps you guys can meet up there. Her name is Allie and she is originally form England and Scotland.
27th February 2013

Thank you
Very impressed with your new venture. You deserve all these blessings. Thank you for sharing; it is very interesting. We sure miss you. Blessings to you and your friends. Keep us posted. Love you Lots
4th March 2013

Thank you
Carolyn, Thank you for your comment. It is very encouraging. Donzetta

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb