Oaxaca with Donzetta- Medicina Tradicional


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Maria Ruiz:  La CuranderaMaria Ruiz:  La CuranderaMaria Ruiz: La Curandera

This is the curandera in her garden with one of the herbs that she uses.
On my return from the coast I had an appointment with a medica tradicional or curandera. I wanted to learn about the traditional medical technics that are a part of the Mexican culture. The director of the school set up the appointment and I chose to have some of the traditional treatments such as a limpia (cleaning) and treatments for empacho, fear and stress. I can with certainty say that the herbal drinks for stress worked because before I could get home from the treatment (30 min taxi ride and 10 minute walk) I had to stop at a restaurant to eat and to have coffee. My muscles were so relaxed that I did not think that I could make it home.

Maria Ruiz has been taught all of the methods of a curandera by her grandmother. They go to the mountains near her home to collect some herbs needed for various ailments and some herbs she grows in her garden.

I am including some photos of our session.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Otra Vista en el JardinOtra Vista en el Jardin
Otra Vista en el Jardin

This is another herb that she uses in treatments.
Una Mesa Llena de las HierbasUna Mesa Llena de las Hierbas
Una Mesa Llena de las Hierbas

For this interview she had taken out many of the herbs that she uses in her practice.
Las Montanas para las HierbasLas Montanas para las Hierbas
Las Montanas para las Hierbas

In the background are the mountains where she goes to find the herbs for treatments.
Molinera de las HierbasMolinera de las Hierbas
Molinera de las Hierbas

Here she is mixing and rolling out the herbs with water.
La LimpiaLa Limpia
La Limpia

This was the procedure called Limpia or cleaning.


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb