Oaxaca with Donzetta - Semana Santa


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
April 9th 2012
Published: April 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: La Procesion en Silencio 48 secs
2: La Procesion en Silencio 53 secs
3: La Procesion de Silencio 83 secs


El Domingo de RamosEl Domingo de RamosEl Domingo de Ramos

This is Palm Sunday at Santo Domingo. It was so crowded that I had to stand up front near the altar because there were no seats. It is a very large church.
Hi All,

Today is the conclusion of Semana Santa (Holy Week). It began on El Domingo de Ramos (Palm Sunday) and ended with Pascua (Easter). The highlights were Jueves Santa (Holy Thursday) and Viernes Santa (Good Friday). I went to Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday masses. I did not get to participate in Holy Thursday where they visit seven churches because I was in class. I did get to walk in the "Procesion de Silencio (The Procession in Silence which began at 1800. On fridays I get out of class at 1300 so I got a chance to go home and rest and then go to the church to make the walk.

The visualizer on my camera is broken but I attempted to take pictures and videos and to my surprise they came out. I have mostly videos. I did go to Sams today to get a new camera. I have been itching to go to see how Sams is in Oaxaca...same store, different language and a lot of regional products. My next adventure is to take a taxi to Walmart...much too far to walk and I'm not certain enough about the buses.

I found that this website
Las Turisticos y LocalesLas Turisticos y LocalesLas Turisticos y Locales

This is the crowd waiting outside of Santo Domingo for the "Procesion de Silencio" to begin. It was about a 2 - 4 mile route and there were crowds all along the way in the streets, in windows and on rooftops.
does not support videos so I am just going to send the 3 photos that I have of Semana Santa and then I am going to attempt to use YouTube or another 3rd party in order to upload the videos. They show the people moving and talking.

This is truly a learning experience!

It appears that I have uploaded 3 videos but don't be surprised at what you see or don't see. It would not allow me to upload the Palm Sunday Video but it appears that the Viernes Santa videos uploaded...surprise.

Enjoy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

El Domingo de PascuaEl Domingo de Pascua
El Domingo de Pascua

This is Easter Sunday at La Iglesia de la Preciosa Sangre de Cristo (The Church of the Precious Blood of Christ). It is a smaller church that has a smaller crowd.


10th April 2012

Que gusto!!!
..ver -a través de las fotos y videos que gentilmente nos envias- parte de mi México que tanto quiero y extraño. Me da "harto" gusto saber que lo estás disfrutando. Gracias una vez mas por compartir. Un abrazo. Marcelino
11th April 2012

I'm so glad to hear from you
Marcelino, I am so glad to hear from you. I was wondering if any of the class had seen the blog. I am so glad to hear that it has touched your heart. Please send to me the name of the metzcal that you wanted. I left your note at home....Donzetta

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb