Oaxaca with Donzetta - TCC


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
April 4th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Uno de Mis MaestrosUno de Mis MaestrosUno de Mis Maestros

This is a picture of one of my teachers, Cesar Pena Ramirez, with the guest speaker for our class Roseanne Bell (a former interpreter). Not shown is Tina Pena.
Hello All,

I am reflecting on my good fortune in being here in this place now. I am first of all grateful to God for the resources to do this and then to my friends (especially Barb. and Jan) who have supported me in my return to good health and who (Barb) watch over those things of most importance to me while I am here.

I am also grateful to TCC (Tulsa Community College) for their great progam in Spanish. It has given me the foundation to pursue greater fluency in the language. From receiving my Associate Degree of Arts in Spanish to completing my Certification for Medical Interpretation in Spanish, TCC has had a program in place all along the way. Upon returning to Tulsa after this trip) my plan is to take the National Exam for Medical Interpreters and be eligible to take a position as an interpreter of English and Spanish in a medical institution.

Due to the refinement of the laws against descrimination because of "national origin", institutions receiving government funding/assistance are required to provide language help to those who do not speak or understand English very well. As a result there are
Nuestra Clase en TCCNuestra Clase en TCCNuestra Clase en TCC

This is our class for Medical Interpretation with our instructor Cesar Pena Ramirez.
many positions opening up to comply with this law. TCC is meeting this need by providing programs of Interpeting and Translation in Spanish, the primary second language in our area. If interested in pursuing a career in this growing area call or see Tina Pena at TCC.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Estudiante Con El MaestroEstudiante Con El Maestro
Estudiante Con El Maestro

This is one of the students, Clo Hill, with our instructor. She is a nurse with TPS and is very fluent in Spanish.
Cuatro Estudiantes/Tres PaisesCuatro Estudiantes/Tres Paises
Cuatro Estudiantes/Tres Paises

These are four our the students in the Spanish Medical Interpreting Program, one from Peru (L), one from Guatemala (MR) and the other two from Mexico. Mucho diversidad.
Nuestra Clase en TCCNuestra Clase en TCC
Nuestra Clase en TCC

This is a picture of my friend Barbara who helps me in my times of need. She helped to make this trip possible. I don't have a picture in this computer of my friend Jan who also helps in my times of need.
Un SorprendoUn Sorprendo
Un Sorprendo

I caught this group by surprise, some with their eyes closed. But I think it is a nice picture and I wanted to include it.
Buenas Amigas.Buenas Amigas.
Buenas Amigas.

This is a picture of my friend Barbara who helps me in my times of need. She helped to make this trip possible. I don't have a picture in this computer of my friend Jan who also helps in my times of need.


5th April 2012

These
It is wonderful to see pictures and to hear from you. You are a blessing to sooooooooo many people; God is blessing you back. Learn a lot, and come home safe and smart!
9th April 2012

Good to hear from you!
Hi Carolyn, It is so good to hear from you. Thank you for the very positive comments.
9th April 2012

Happy Easter
Oh Donzetta, I was thinking of you yesterday. Frank and I went to St Thomas Moore church and out front they had a large group of Aztec Indians in all their colorful garb. Beautiful yellow, red, feathers and all ages, dancing to their music. After Mass they were cooking fresh things up that I couldn't pronounce or understand. Looked and smelled delicious but we were in a hurry so didn't stop to participate. Father Perez comes from somewhere outside of Mexico City and includes his culture and family in the homily. I hope you enjoyed a wonderful day and those to come. Love LaVerne
10th April 2012

Aztec Culture
It is interesting that they were there on sunday. Today we are discussing Oaxaca and the Aztecs in our discussion workshop..in spanish.

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb