Viva Oaxaca


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
September 28th 2008
Published: September 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yo quiero mi familia host! Nada? I love my host family! They are so patient with me and I am really enjoying attempting to have conversations with them while they are enjoying all my Franglais Spanish. Tonight I gave them a few things from Canada, the obligatory maple syrup and smoked salmon (which we are having for comida tomorrow), a 2010 Olympics bear bell, BC ferries pen that has a double-decker bus floating by the legislative buildings and mini vibrating plush ferry on a key chain. Which one do you think they liked most? Nope, wrong, the bear bell was the biggest hit, especially after I explained in Spanglish what it was meant for.

Earlier in the day I met up with the rest of the group in el zocalo (the main square). Some of the group looks well rested and excited, while others looked a bit shell shocked and glad to be hearing English. We met our lovely assistant in Oaxaca, Cirenia, and she promptly put us to work. In groups of four we were sent around the main area of Oaxaca to places we would be visiting over the two months here, as well as culturally important sites. Luckily on of there place was a book store, hurrah! We also stopped at the school where we will be taking our Spanish lessons, called Ollin Tlahtoalli and enjoyed, what was for many of us, our first fresh guava. After meeting back in el zocalo for camida a small groups of us went in search of phones and sim cards. I returned home to chat with my familia Mexicana for a little while and am now about to go to cama because six hours of walking, una grande camida and una ampolla later and I am muy casada.

Tri-lingual here I come!

Xo
S



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



28th September 2008

Love it dear ...
keep well Dad

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb