The Place


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
August 14th 2006
Published: August 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Main entranceMain entranceMain entrance

Standing in front of the two of the main buildings on campus.
The scenery here in Monterrey is not what I had pictured when I signed up for studying in Mexico. I'm staying on a campus with lush green grash, trees everywhere, and mountains looming in the distance. Much of the city is your typical scrubby brush and sparse grass, but with proper care, it's gorgeous.
After being completely overwhelmed and lost for the first few days, I have come to appreciate the large campus and all that it has to offer. There are picnic tables everywhere where students surf the internet and work on homework through the wireless internet. Not only are there thousands of students, but there are all kinds of animals. One night during the first week, I was kind of lonely and walking around campus "exploring," something caught my eye, and it was a deer standing there looking at me; it made my night. On campus we have countless peacocks, ducks, 3 deer-like animals, a cat (who enjoyed some of my Subway turkey sandwich) and 1 squirrel. Tec also has an amazing gym, auditorium, dance studio (in which I had my first salsa class this morning), aquatic dome, a stadium across the street....
Anyway, just check out the pictures,
Deer deerDeer deerDeer deer

Seriously reminds me of Bambi with the flowers right there.
they're a lot more interesting than my descriptions anyway.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SignsSigns
Signs

There's all kinds of stuff happening around campus, and some cools signs, too.
CETECCETEC
CETEC

This building is called the servilletero, or napkinholder, and it has a huge computer lab where I spent a lot of my time.
The PoolThe Pool
The Pool

So, I don't have any A/C, but I do have a pool right beside my dorm (the building in this picture's background).
The UnderpassThe Underpass
The Underpass

This whole campus is fenced in, so a lot of times it gets frustrating when you can see exactly where you need to get to but have to walk all the way around. This underpass connects the residences where I live to the main campus.
La piscinaLa piscina
La piscina

The hardcore pool.
PeacocksPeacocks
Peacocks

There's gotta be at least 20 of these suckers around.
TreesTrees
Trees

This walkway goes to the central cafeteria.
SignsSigns
Signs

The Marshall method of getting around: find a sign. They've been my saving grace so far.
Lonely squirrelLonely squirrel
Lonely squirrel

I think that all his friends signed up as international students at MC.
Clean campusClean campus
Clean campus

About every 20 ft. they have 3 containers: 1 for plastic, 1 for aluminum, and 1 for trash. It's been great for all my plastic water bottles.


14th August 2006

Wow!
I'm so glad that you're having a good time. It looks absolutely beautiful!
14th August 2006

hola compadre
I am no good at speaking english muchless espanola. I just wanted to say hello and best of luck with your deer and ducks. Sit and talk with your lonely mexican squirrel he needs a friend! Hope you are having fun. Lata D Hailey
14th August 2006

Yeah!! this is so fun to read--you are hillarious! I am happy that you've gotten yourself situated. When do classes start?
15th August 2006

OMG !
This place looks awesome!i'm glad you are having a good time..we will ahve to share pics when u come back!:)love u!
15th August 2006

Glad to see that the campus is nice. My favorite picture is the lonely squirrel... maybe I can catch a couple when I get back to Maryville and have them shipped to you so they can be friends!
16th August 2006

I seriously haven't seen another squirrel besides that one.. poor guy/girl. Tonight is movie night; new movies on Wednesdays are $2.50... well, new enough. They're a couple weeks behind, so I think I might finally get to see the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie. Just had my second salsa class, and I have to say that we're going to have to have some lessons in the Pimp Suite so that we can have a straight up Salsa Fiesta on our modeling runway. Love ya Christin
18th August 2006

Marshall method...
I'll have to remember that Marshall method of finding your way around un-famiar places(which for me is marietta...) reading signs... Guess that means i'll have to get to work on that Hooked on phonix stuff... LATA! Keep in touch!
20th August 2006

August 20th
Dang Dori...keep these coming...it is awesome to hear how everything is going for you! I'm holding down the fort for you back here at pre-season though!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb