The People


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
August 18th 2006
Published: August 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I finally got some pictures off of my friend´s camera, so I´m ready to show you guys some of the cool folks I´ve met.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

RoommatesRoommates
Roommates

This is my roommate, Karen. She and I share the room without AC on the third floor of building five. She´s from Michoacan, Mexico, and she´s an engineering major.
StreetwalkersStreetwalkers
Streetwalkers

(From left to right.) Matt is from Colorado, he´s very fashionable and works for Nordstrom, he practices with the baseball team here at Tec, and I love having him around because he´s always ready to dance. James is from Australia, he´s a journalism major, and he´s always unbelievably relaxed; as you can see, he almost reclines as he walks. My roommate, whom I´ve introduced. Oliver, whom we call ´The Ambassador´is from Austria, is an avid skiier, always has things under control, knows the directions to places, has coupons, etc... He drives one of those European SmartCars that fits 2 people... he drives it on the Autobahn at 85 mph. At times he carries this "murse" or man purse that seems to be popular with the Euro guys.
Dancin´ some salsaDancin´ some salsa
Dancin´ some salsa

Karen happens to be a champion salsa dancer (that´s right, I´ve got a personal trainer). She and Matt dance in the restaurant after watching the soccer game on the big screen.
Salsa?Salsa?
Salsa?

I pretend to know how to dance The Salsa (shuffle around a lot), but sometimes you just start to feel bad for the guy.
Dinner at Kathleen´sDinner at Kathleen´s
Dinner at Kathleen´s

We made American-style tacos at Kathleen´s on this night. Beside Karen is Ashley who is the group´s representative from the country of, I mean state of, Texas.
Party HatParty Hat
Party Hat

James sits with Oliver as he sports a sombrero.
The CrewThe Crew
The Crew

Those of us that went to Antiguo de Tec to watch the Monterrey soccer team whip the other team (whose name was??). We plan to get tickets for the next one. The stadium is just right across the street.
SonyaSonya
Sonya

Karen and my friend from Prague, Sonya. She and I have a pact to only speak Spanish to each other, so I get some good practice. She´s also my neighbor in the residence hall.


18th August 2006

Looks like you've have already made an incredible amount of friends and are having a butt load of FUN!!
18th August 2006

Caliente!
That Sombrero is pretty spicy. I hope you wear one when you hit the dance floor, you'll be getting rows of latin lovers. I thought of you today when i purchased the September 2004 edition of National Geographic, pretty nice pictures. Well, your friends look cool. I approve;)
19th August 2006

salsa!
hey christin..i tried to learn some salsa this summer but i'm not very good at it lol..you will have to show me more when u get back!have fun!!miss u:)
19th August 2006

okay...
Pics look like a ton of fun, you wild thang you... and with all those friends, I think you should run for class president.. keep those feet moving to the beat. I love you and be careful, I've heard about those mexican prisons, and with all the lefties protesting, the important diplomats have their hands full, so you'd probably get left high and dry.. peace. srh
20th August 2006

YAY!
Your friends look fantastically fun. I wish I was there as well! I move in Friday, and I think Jessica comes on Sunday. I found out our roommates are from Korea and the Congo-Republic. I'm pumped, but I miss YOU!!!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb