Cueravaca update


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 14th 2010
Published: July 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I haven’t written much so here’s an update. Carol arrived in MX on the 3rd of July and I took her to the airport in MX Mon. She spent the first week resting and getting acquainted with Cuernavaca and it didn’t take long for her to realize as I did quickly that Cuernavaca isn’t the town for us. In spite of the fact my host family couldn’t be nicer and they’re treating me so well, the city is large, filthy, loud and chaotic and doesn’t have the charm and history that Oaxaca has.
We of course enjoyed our time together and she finally felt secure enough to visit the most tranquil areas on her own while I was in class. The only weekend she had here, we went to Taxco one day and Tepoztlan the next as these were pueblos that I had gone to before and determined she would love. The picts I’m posting show our trips there.
After leaving her at the airport, I rode the metro to Chapultepec, the part of Mexico city that is like a huge Central Park with many museums, etc, and spent the afternoon in the Museo de Antropología which is really fantastic. Wouldn’t want to have been a captive of the Aztecs as they have many 12” or longer obsidian blades they used to cut out the hearts of their victims! I’m posting picts of those as well so you can visualize the blood dripping off of them!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Meet your makerMeet your maker
Meet your maker

This is probably something like the last face many captives saw!!
Memoria de Heroes-MXMemoria de Heroes-MX
Memoria de Heroes-MX

Remember that when I say MX-I mean the city-they call it MX here.
Wouldn't want to meet an AztecWouldn't want to meet an Aztec
Wouldn't want to meet an Aztec

Surgical instruments of the Aztecs-non-consensual surgery of course!


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb