My Mexican Family


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 5th 2010
Published: July 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

During our visit, we live with a family in Cuernavaca. It’s referred to as a homestay. They not only provide a place to sleep but also breakfast and lunch. Luckily, it was also arranged that they would take us to school in the morning and pick us up for the return home. Victor (the father), Abi (the mother), Veronica and Cecilla (their daughters) are warm and welcoming. The parents speak no English, but fortunately Veronica teaches English at the university. I think the Fulbright program must discourage our families from speaking English to us because she doesn’t use English very often. Fortunately, Brian, my housemate, is fairly fluent. That helps a lot. By the way I want to say how great it’s been to have him around. He’s a Spanish teacher from the Eastern Shore, which explains his Spanish fluency, and we get along really well.

The home Brian and I are staying in is beautiful. It’s unlike my homestay in Guatemala, which was more like a working poor household. This house is more typical of a middle class family. As I mentioned in a previous blog, most families live on less than $3.00 a day, so this is far
these are two separate bedrooms with bath. I'm in the lower one.these are two separate bedrooms with bath. I'm in the lower one.these are two separate bedrooms with bath. I'm in the lower one.

the building was actually built around the palm tree in the middle
beyond what most can afford. The photos speak for themselves.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

another view of front yard showing the wall and barbed wireanother view of front yard showing the wall and barbed wire
another view of front yard showing the wall and barbed wire

Walls are common around the perimeter of the property for privacy and protection


5th July 2010

Paul, I am enjoying your blog already. The house looks wondeful, I enjoyed seeing the garden. Let me know when you have my favorite dish. Enchiladadas!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb