Mexico 2010


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
July 24th 2010
Published: July 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hostel in CuernavacaHostel in CuernavacaHostel in Cuernavaca

First night in Mexico
Already a few weeks into the trip, so where to start...

Getting to Mexico proved to be a little adventure itself. My flight from DFW to Houston was delayed almost 2 hours, so I missed my connection to D.F. and had to spend the night at some random hotel (that didn´t have a bar). Back to the airport for the trek to Mexico City. Might I suggest flying into Mexico on one of their airlines, as the beverages are complimentary. And I´m not talking about juice or soda.

So while enjoying my first Corona of the trip, I struck up a conversation with the person sitting next to me. She was traveling to Oaxaca. Twenty years ago, she travelled down there with a volunteer group while in high school. So to mark the anniversary, she was attempting to find the family that provided her homestay. I wonder if she found them?...

Upon arrival in D.F., I was greeted by not one, but two different people there waiting for me. One being my friend´s cousin who offered to put me up for the night, while the other was my friend who has started this volunteer group with which I´m beginning my short journey. I ended up heading out with my friend and several other volunteers to Cuernavaca for the night. We stayed in a small ´hostel´that appeared to be more like the back of someone´s converted into a spare room with 5 beds and shower. Actually wasn´t bad at all (except for the mosquitoes, which I´ll get into a little more later). It had a pool but the weather was not really conducive to jumping in. We went out for dinner as a group, I had some pozole that was damn good but made it an early night due to having to wake at 6 am to go back to the Mexico City airport to round up more volunteers. This was to be a long day...

Arrived at the airport at 9 am and spent the entire day going back and forth between terminals 1 and 2, picking people up. And when I say the entire day, I mean not leaving the airport until after 10 pm. And now to Morelia by bus. That would be approximately a 5 hour bus ride, filled with bump after bump and toll stop after toll stop. A total of maybe 30-60 minutes of good sleep, finally arriving to the hostel at around 4:30 am. Finally to Morelia, Saturday July 10...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th August 2010

That looks like the pool from Y Tu Mama Tambien!

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb