Olympic sized swimming pools, VIP movie theaters, and sulfur hot springs, oh my!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
August 1st 2008
Published: September 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ann, whitney, and john in the indoor poolann, whitney, and john in the indoor poolann, whitney, and john in the indoor pool

the water wasn't very warm...and there were tons of children around...
¡Hola! Well, it´s been a week so read below if you want to get filled in:

I decided not to go to Mexico City last weekend (a little tired from traveling every weekend before that). But last Friday (and today too), me and a friend went to the sports complex nearby where there´s an olympic sized pool plus diving pool with all of the diving platforms. I had been swimming at least a mile almost every day before coming to Mexico, and since it had been a month and a half, I was a little rusty. And in the diving pool there were about 30 waterpolo balls that we tossed around. There were tons of kids taking swimming lessons and whenever we dived off the boards they all cheered, especially when I got up the nerve to go off the 10 meter (highest) platform, taller than all of the buildings and I had a view of the city. It was the longest jump of my life and I stood up there a good 30 seconds while everyone rooted me on before I jumped. Since I was at the pool today I did it again, and it was way easier, although
ash, janeth, and luisash, janeth, and luisash, janeth, and luis

after we had a dip
heart pounding - but the bottom line is that it was fun!

On Saturday I went to the movies to see Batman. I went to the VIP theater which costs $9 (regular movie theaters are $5), and man was it worth it. All the seats in the theaters are leather lazyboy recliners and there are glass tables that pull out over your lap to put your food on. And there´s a menu next to everychair, and you push a button and a waiter comes to take your order (you only order in the beginner so it doesn´t interrupt the movie). The chairs are put 2 next to each other so if you have a date, you can make it a reclining loveseat = genious! It was the greatest most comfortable movie experience of my life!

On Sunday 7 of us piled in our friends car and we went to the sulfur hot springs in the mountains about an hour and a half away. There were a lot of private nice places to go, but they were expensive so we went to the more public hot springs place for $4 each. The water was warm, which was nice because it was a lot cooler up in the mountains. And it didn´t smell too much like sulfer either - I´ve been in serious sulfur springs where you reek like sulfer for the next 2 days. It was a pleasant day, and after we were done soaking we sat a chatted in the cafe while it poured outside.

This past week has been okay, I can´t believe I have less than 3 weeks to go! I´m learning more in salsa class, and doing flips, lifts, and even the splits (didn´t know I had it in me)! I´m also buying a pair of actual dance shoes where on the bottom of the shoe the center part is grated so theres friction for not slipping, but the outer parts are smooth so you can spin easily. I feel like I´m definitely going to continue dancing back in the states so I might as well get a pair that advised from my dance teacher. And remember me talking about Kirsten? She´s been my travel and dance partner. Well she advanced so much in salsa (she´s been a ballet dancer for 15 years and was going to go pro until she broke her ankle) that she´s in a showcase this weekend with the Mexican salsa dancers in a nearby town, me and a few other are going to watch. She´s also going to be in this local competition and stay an extra 3 weeks past the program (missing the 1st week of classes at Berkeley). And because she´s graduating in the fall, she wants to move back here and be a pro salsa dancer, since that was always her dream to be a pro dancer (if not ballet, i guess it´s salsa). We´ve also been learning some tango in class too, I love it.

School doesn´t really interest me anymore, I´m ready to be done. For the past 2 weeks I´ve been knitting in class (just like I do at Berkeley) in order to stay awake and more focussed on lectures. I´m actually knitting a blanket for my host family which I´ve never done. But I´m just doing a bunch of squares that I´ll piece together so it shouldn´t be too hard. Only 2 more full weeks of school, and then finals. I´ll miss my host family and salsa classes, but I won´t miss school.

Other news and more observations:
-there is pizza here, but they use ketchup instead of tomato sauce. Also they use hotdogs instead of sausage.
-lime and salt are used for EVERY food here, I don´t know where all the limes come from.
-i feel my english is getting worse, other students have commented on that too. maybe you can tell from my emails, or not. yesterday in conversation class i was teaching someone in english the past tense for "dive" and I taught him "dived". It took me a full minute before realizing my mistake...by the way, it´s "dove", not "dived"
-the trees here are pruned so well they look like popsicles
-every town here has streets named after dates, like "20 de noviembre" for important events like the mexican independence, etc.
-people do NOT pick up dog poop. you really need to look where you walk because there is poop on all the sidewalks, seriously
-EVERYONE drinks Coke, one of my sisters and her husband even work for Coca-cola.

Well I think that´s all for now. Get excited because the Olympics are coming!! I´m going to look up the events right now....miss you all, and feel free to send me updates about your lives! Hasta luego,

Mon

(PHOTOS TAKEN BY EAP MORELIA 2008 STUDENTS)


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 65; dbt: 0.126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb