Salsa all day long


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Mexico City
January 24th 2010
Published: January 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before I begin my colossal catch up blog I'd like to apologise for the neglect to everybody including darling boyfriend and darling Mother. As explained in my previous rant, it was exceptionally expensive in Vegas to utilise anything that you touched, and since we have left we have not had a chance to scratch ourselves let alone write my daily activities with the commitment I promised.

So TRAVELLERS LESSON NUMBER have no idea anymore; Be prepared for all seasons. This is an obvious one, but I have found one that Emily and I may have overlooked on our trip out to the Grand Canyon, 2 days into our Vegas trip. We hired a car, stopped at a roadside diner, at the usual 'buffalo burger' and arrived at the Grand Canyon too late to see it due to the lack of sun. So being accustomed to lack of sleep, we planned to get up and see the Canyon for sunrise. Slight Hitch, when we rose and peeked out of our quaint cabin everything was different to how we had left it at night - apparently it snows in Arizona. So we took a few photos, because we didn't drive 8 hours for nothing, but didn't see the Grandeur of the Canyon as promised due to the thick fog and snow. So off we trekked back to Vegas with a bit of difficulty on the icey roads at first, but getting there in good time for the beginning of a girly night.

If you like the flash and dazzle of pokie machines and can stand the sight of alcohol all day long - Vegas is the place for you. It is huge and overdone and I love it for a small amount of time... any longer and I'm having an epileptic fit on the floor of our hotel room.

Since we arrived in Mexico we have done so so so much. Absolutely loving the weather that we have been missing out on back home. I have people currently death staring me for this spot at the computer so i'm going to have to cut it down into highlights of what we have done up until today.
Cancun - Commerical, loved the hostel which was previously a Mexican terrace style house, Love having Salsa with everything I eat.
Chichen Itza - Amazing long day. Did I mention it was long?
Tulum - Beautiful coastal town, Stayed in a hut right on the beach with nothing in it but a sand floor and a bed with mosquito net and sandy greasy sheets. Everything about this place was amazing, excpet for the interior of the hut. It was nice to finally lay down on the beach and relax with a beer in one hand and book in the other.
Isla Mujeres - Beautiful island... Sea as blue as my eyes, and just as beautiful too. Going on a snorkelling tour tomorrow and then off on a place to certain death.

So I really have to go before people start hitting me with the many brochures on offer at the hostel.

Probably won't get to write again soon as we are off to Machu Picchu and won't be near civilisation for a good week or so.

Miss you all and hope all is good back home

Also a shout out to my Mum, Thanks for pointing out my bad spelling I will practice 'defintely' until it has all the constenants that it should.

Advertisement



24th January 2010

Mexico Madness!
Hi my darling daughter and lovely Emily, (you didn't mention Emily, but I'm guessing she's okay). You seem to be having such a wonderful time, however I was worried at your mention of your going "off on a place to certain death". I loved your story about the Grand Canyon, but you neglected to mention the part about when you returned to Las Vegas and went to the show! That was my favourite part of your story about your trip to Vegas. I'm sure you'll mention it at a later date. Please let me know exactly when you'll be off to Machu Picchu as I know you hadn't booked it before you left so I'll know when next to expect to hear from you. Have a wonderful trek and stay safe. Lots and lots of love, hugs and kisses.......your loving Mum xxxxx and some for Em xxxx
26th January 2010

revenge is sweet
Hmmm...was "constenants" a joke, or should I get some revenge from my blogs and tell you how it's actually spelled?

Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb