Puerto Vallarta: La playa, el sol, las comidas y las discotecas


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
November 8th 2010
Published: November 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I will start by saying that after 2 weeks, I feel much more comfortable with my spanish skills, especially in Puerto Vallarta (PV) where everbody speaks english...

So, I caught a bus in Guadalajara on 3rd of Nov. No problem this time to buy a ticket, this is part of the "basics" in the ASSIMIL book... The issue was to reach the bus station in GDL because I tried some local buses, and it took me over 1 hour when it supposed to be 20 minutes. Anyway I arrived. This time I decided to travel with Primera Plus, and it is really good. At least they display new movies..
Arriving around 5.30, I go straight to the hotel, the "Hotel Tropicana". Good place, good price. 760p/night for a room on the ocean.

Let me explain you 1st PV. This is in the middle of a bay. The North, called Nuevo Vallarta (and Nayarit state) is basically full of big resorts with 1, 2 3, 500 swimming pools, jacuzzi, spa, tennis courts etc.. And people stay in, they dont go to the beach. Not really what I want. The South is where is located Mismaloya (creek of the "the night of the iguana" with Liz Taylor and Richard Burton) and the virgin beaches only accessibles by boat (no roads). Very beautiful. The best is to get a local bus to Mismalyoa and then a boat. In between, you have Puerto Vallarta. You can divide it in 2, the south of the river, the rio cuale, and yes indeed the north of the rio cuale !! South is the Old town, called the romantic zone, or known as the gay&lesbian area, with the 2 only beaches of the center, Los muertos and Olas Atlas). North is where you have the malecon, the promenade along the beach with all the clubs and restos.

So I arrived at the hotel, located in the old town. Well, not that I wanted to be in the gay&lesbian area, but I have been told after arriving.. Anyway this is super ok area, very safe (like anywhere in PV), full of local "mama" restos. I went for tacos and they were a bit astounded. I got 11 tacos, which seems to be a lot there. Vincent, remember at the Ihop when the guy said it was the 1st time he saw someone (me) eating that many pancakes ? Hmm, it was almost the same here !! Then straight to the club "Punto V.

Discotecas:
This is obviously the main activity of PV. Waht I can say is that europeans cannot party. This is simply crazy here how mad it can be. For 450p you get open-bar. The other evenings I went to other clubs, and it was just unbelievable too. People shouting (the famous wooo girls), cheering, dancing like crazy, very nice djs playing a mix of eurotrash/house/spanish hits. And always displaying the videoclip of the song playing.
I definitely recommend the Roo (latest one) where I have seen a dj girl from LA, the Señor Frog (it was a kind of pop idol / miss PV night, sooooooo much fun), the Punto V, the Mandala (the roof terrace is great). And if not happy, try the Zoo and Hilo. I did not try the clubs in the gay&lesbian area because it is I guess very different from BXL and not open-minded for straight people.

The funny thing with PV is that it is full of retired americans and canadians (no they are not all in Florida !!). And young mexicans. Weird mix. Anyway it works pretty well.

I understand why it is popular for springbreaks, because it is very cheap. Beers (Corona, Sol, Modelo, name it!) are between 15 and 30p and drinks about 60p.
But despite having a beautiful old town (I mean very clean buildings, nice architecture, etc), PV has not much to offer for tourists. It was anyway welcome for me before entering 2 weeks in the country visiting mayas sites etc.

Well, I had so many thing in mind to say about PV but cant remember half of it (I guess it is the Piña colada on the beach).

See you soon. Tmrw I go to Mexico city.






Advertisement



12th November 2010

Things to do in Vallarta?
It sounds like you're having an awesome time :D Aside from nightlife, what else is there to do in PV? I've been thinking about visiting because Mexico is just so beautiful (and cheap!). I'm totally into ATV tours and I heard Green Zebra Adventures has a location in Puerto Vallarta. You can check it out on their site, I believe. Have you heard of them?
13th November 2010

PV
well, Nightlife is the main point of PV. Beaches are ok but I am sure you can find much better somewhere else.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb