We started out just watching...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Melaque
February 16th 2014
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 19.2247, -104.703

Lounging at the pool Saturday we heard about a Mexican fiesta the next night there at the restaurant. With dancers and "especial Dinner" of Mexican tacos, we were in! We LOVE folk dancing whether it's Mexican or Peruvian or Thai. We love the music, the colors, the dancers--it's always great entertainment.

You know how some people will always hit the museums wherever they travel--well with us it's the folk dancing. And this was a fund raiser too, so it was a chance to do a good thing. Check out the flyer tho--as much as they try, English is dang difficult for them, but then I'd hate to have to write a flyer in Spanish, either.

So the four of us get duded up and walk over to the restaurant at 6:30. Starts at 6:30, right? Flyer says 6:30 and like dummies we show up on. the. dot.

Oh dear. Have we learned NOTHING yet? Of COURSE we're the only ones there--they hardly have the tables set. I believe an advertised time is code for 1 1/2 hrs later. And yes, at 8:00 the dancers arrived.

We ordered dinner and as always, no ice tea so I asked for water. Unfortunately I must have been off gawking at something when he said "con gas" because I always as for it without. Here they'll serve you a nasty salty carbonated water unless you say "sin gas, por favor." So the waiter brings me my water, I open it (gawking off at the sunset no doubt) and it bubbles all over. Oh no, I'm so sorry--I didn't hear you say con gas, please could I have "natural"?

The waiter says no problem! I run right to the store very quick and he was off like a flash. It couldn't have been two minutes later he was bringing me my bottle of cold water.

The Mexican tacos plate was 4 homemade tortillas piled high with pork or beef, then you finish them off with beans, lettuce, two kinds of pico de gallo, hot red sauce or mild tomatillo and soon your plate is overflowing.

We hung around after dinner until the mosquitos started getting us and still the dancers hadn't shown, so we left. "We'll come back later," we told them. We'd changed clothes and were sitting round reading when Donna comes over...you want to go see the dancers? They've started.

So here we go, me in the tshirt I wear to bed--we were just going to watch, after all, but so glad we went because the dancers were cute and fun and lively.



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Fundraising Flyer Fundraising Flyer
Fundraising Flyer

That's 100 pesos, not 100 dollars. It's about $7.


17th February 2014

Vas donna......Te pierdas!!! Te amo!!
17th February 2014

Karen and Bob- your folk dancing looks very fun! It is good to see you both looking so well. Love ya-Sandra
17th February 2014

GREAT pic!
17th February 2014

GREAT pic!
17th February 2014

May I have the next dance? I missed seeing "Tall" Bob! :) Enjoying your beautiful pictures! THANK YOU!!

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb