Pt.2


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
March 11th 2011
Published: March 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The second day i was in Guadalajara, I woke up, got ready, and headed out to meet two of Tere's friends: Ricky and Rafa. We were on our way to Ricky's house because we were going to help Rafa make a giant heart shaped rice krispie for his girlfriend for valentines day, which was on monday. It was quite the adventure attempting to make them and the mess that came with us cooking lol. It was fun though. After we finished with the rice krispie, Rafa went home, and Charly (another one of Tere's friends) came to pick me, Tere, and Ricky up to take us to his house so he could drop off this giant teddy bear he bought for his girlfriend, also for valentines day. We waited on the patio of what I think was a restaurant that was a thirty second walk from Charly's house while Charly got ready. After 5 minutes of trying to figure out where to go and eat, they settled on going to Tortas Toño, it has amazing food there!!! For those that don't know what a torta is, it's basically a bun with meat- like a sandwich- and you're supposed to drench it in this tomato-y sacue and spicy sauce, then you can also put lime, onions, cilantro, and bean sprouts on top. It is incredibly messy but it is well worth the sauce-stained shirt.

Later that night, Tere took me to a welcoming party at here friends Iians house, I would guess that there were 30 people there, if not more, and trying to remember all of there names was a challenge, mind you, if I saw all of them today, I could name about half. The party was fun, and the people were so nice! I was actually surprised by how nice they were. Some of them that spoke english did try to speak with me in english just to make me feel more at ease, I definitely felt welcomed. That Sunday, I can't remember what I did, but I'm sure whatever it was, I had fun doing it!

That night however, I was getting incresingly nervous about school the next day, I didn't really know anyone besides Tere, and I was just nervous about, well, about everything really. The dreaded day came, and I went to school as if it was a regular day at school. The plus side was that it was Valentines day so the school day was cut short and they had a bunch of activities going on. It was really neat to see everyone so involved, and it was nice not to have to stress too much about having a heavy first day at school.

The days that followed seemed to go by in the blink of an eye because now it's already been 4 weeks since I first arrived here (well 4 weeks as of tomorrow)
I will be going into more detail about certain things such as school, and other trips I have taken such as going to Tere's ranch or to Tlaquepaque, and the differences between here and Canada. As of now, I'm beginning to doze off and need my sleep! Goodnight all!

Lots of Love:

Samantha

Advertisement



11th March 2011

Great job!
I think this is going to be a perfect way for me to share your adventure with you! I love you !
13th March 2011

hey Samantha, Hope u r having lots of fun!!! It sounds like u r. Looking forward to keeping up with your adventures in Mexico. Say Hi to Terry and her mother for me. Hugs Marilyn
15th March 2011

Samantha Goes Mexican!!!
So glad to hear you are enjoying the people and school so far Sam. I will keep posted on your blog and we have been thinking about you lots way down south. Please say he to Tere too. Danika wanted to know your email, but I will forward her your blog to start. She wanted to know how you were doing down there. You will be a pro at Spanish and Uncle Brent is taking Grade 11 Spanish online right now so you can see how good he is when you get back. Take care, enjoy these exciting times! The Kamloops Thibaults
15th March 2011

Hey Sam, love your blog... it sounds like your having tons of fun! I'll totally have to email you later and we can exchange exchange stories :). That gain ricecrispie sounded delicious... next time you come over I know what we're cooking!

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb