Speedboat Adventure with the Teens on Coyuca Lagoon . . .


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
December 24th 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It’s Christmas Eve and I’m in Acapulco. And I’m working much of the day. But the upside is the first part of my work day is taking teens out on a tour, so at least I’m outside and enjoying the port.

Today’s teen tour took us by bus through Acapulco. The streets were so busy with everyone doing last minute holiday things and going to wherever they would spend the holiday. All the shop windows had signs for Christmas sales and some street vendors were even selling decorations. Then we headed through the country side and out to Coyuca Lagoon.

We boarded a small motorboat - just me, the four teens I was taking on tour and a woman travelling on her own. The lagoon was huge and the scenery surrounding it was beautiful. We spent about an hour or so jetting around the lagoon. I felt like I should have been somebody in Lifestyles of the Rich & the Famous, or something like that, being jetted around on a private motorboat.

The sun was so hot but because we were moving so quickly, we had a strong wind. The combination of the two was incredible. It felt so nice.

Being the holidays, it’s sometimes hard down here. Generally, it’s just business as usual and another day on the ship. But when I think of everyone back home and what I’d be doing if I were there, I get homesick. Today though, cruising around that lagoon, it was nice and beautiful and peaceful.

After our speedboat ride, we had lunch at a restaurant that sat on the edge of the lagoon. Nice lunch. We had a bit of time to sit by the pool and enjoy the sunshine before getting back on the bus and heading back to the ship.

I got the teens safely back, refreshed a bit and then headed back out again with Jazzy. We went to my new favourite restaurant, 100% Natural, the health food restaurant I’ve become crazy about here. We sipped on fancy champagne and juice cocktails looking out at the bay. We ate some great good. And I used my computer to send holiday greetings. I managed to catch the family in Canfield having just come back from the church service.

And now I’m back on the ship and I’m heading back to the teens. After we close the club for the night, our department is having a little gift exchange and I’m sure we’ll end up at the crew party after that. Some celebrations will be nice.

To everyone back home - Merry Christmas, happy holidays. I’m savouring the sunshine but I’m missing you!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Birds!Birds!
Birds!

At the far left, those aren't birds (like I first thought) but people!


Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb