The Carnival Holiday Show . . .


Advertisement
Oceans and Seas » Pacific
December 23rd 2009
Published: December 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The holidays are here on the Carnival Spirit. For the three cruises leading up to Christmas, we’ve been doing the company’s Holiday Show. All of the youth programs get involved with the show, so our regular activity schedule has been interspersed with rehearsals.

The show starts with the band playing a variety of Christmas songs. The dancers enter through the house aisles handing out candy canes to the audience. The singers sing, the dancers dance. Then it’s time for the kids . . .

First the 9-11 year olds from Camp Carnival, along with Circle C (12-14 year olds) and Club O2 (15-17 year olds and me!) dance. We teach them a very 90’s hip hop routine, complete with the running man and cabbage patch. Oh yes.

The come the 6-8 year olds who sing along with the production singers. This part gets me every time. They sing “Somewhere In My Memory” which I learned to play on the piano when that song first came out with the first Home Alone Movie. Every year when I’m at home, I’ll sit at the piano and play that song with the Christmas tree glowing beside me and the snow outside. Little kids singing is enough to get me choked up to begin with, let alone this specific song. So, although I’m seated onstage (we stay onstage after our dance), I always end up wiping away tears!

The 6-8s sing a second song, “Christmas Tree, My Christmas Tree” as the littlest cruisers come up onstage. The 2-5 year olds wearing little reindeer antlers, hang ornaments on the tree onstage. Then all the little kids sit down on the floor of the stage. Our cruise director, Stu, reads the “true” story of Frosty the Snowman which ends with snow falling on the stage!

The show’s finale has the production singers singing Silent Night. During the song, crew members and staff from the different departments around the ship walk up the house aisles carrying candles. (I tend to get a bit weepy during this too.)

And then just as the show is about to end . . . Santa arrives! Then it’s near chaos as we line up the kids to sit on his knee and take photos. We were elves for this last show and helped Santa hand out gifts to the kids too.

I’ve got a bunch
Reggie, JoJo, Clair & Some Little GirlsReggie, JoJo, Clair & Some Little GirlsReggie, JoJo, Clair & Some Little Girls

The little girls wanted their picture taken too.
of pics here from the show, but lots afterwards too with friends posing around the set which is oh-so-pretty. Only a few more days til Christmas . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Somewhere In My MemorySomewhere In My Memory
Somewhere In My Memory

The 6-8 year olds
Decorating The TreeDecorating The Tree
Decorating The Tree

The little reindeer 2-5 year olds
Silent NightSilent Night
Silent Night

Todd, Becca, Kristy & Dave, our production singers
Me & ReggieMe & Reggie
Me & Reggie

My roomie - again!
Christmas Trees!Christmas Trees!
Christmas Trees!

Me, Reggie & Jazzy


25th December 2009

Merry Christmas Netter!
Hope you have a great day!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb