Sun at last!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
August 29th 2007
Published: September 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Decided that I needed some serious beach time, so set off from Puebla on a 6 hour bus journey to Acapulco! Buses in Mexico seem to be really good so far. This one had loads of leg room and seats that reclined way back. They also show films on tv screens. Some are in English with Spanish subtitles, but so far the ones dubbed in Spanish have been quite good as I´ve seen them in English and it helps me work out what they´re saying quite well.

When I arrived it was raining, and each night here the weather has been rubbish (I´ve been awoken by downpours each night) but the days have been fab. I´ve finally got something that would pass acceptably as a sun tan, so even if there is bad weather now for a month, I´m happy.

Last night I went to see one of Acapulco´s most famous attraction- La Quebruda Clavadistas (cliff divers). Completely bonkers. 8 or so men climb up this sheer cliff, then when they get to a ledge near the top they dive off into the water below. And it is not calm water- there are mahoosive waves and rocks all around.
Crazy cliff divers climbing up the cliff.Crazy cliff divers climbing up the cliff.Crazy cliff divers climbing up the cliff.

You have to look close to see. Bad photos cos it´s dark- sorry!
I"m not sure if anyone has ever been killed doing it, but I wouldn" t be surprised!

I really needed a few days on the beach. Now I"m ready for some more culture!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb