A Relaxing Week...Until a Fire Ant Sting!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » San Miguel de Allende
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lazy daysLazy daysLazy days

And we never thought Byron would lay on tile...
After all of the buses and touring around with our friend Urian, we both became hermits in our casita. It felt so nice to not have anywhere to be (school is on break for me), or anything that needed to be done, and so our days have been very quiet this past week. In order to save money, we have been having all of our meals at home and buying fresh vegetables almost everyday from our local vendor.

Ronnie has been getting a ton of artwork done, which was his whole goal for coming down to Mexico. I, too, have been doing more art. I have been working on illustrations for a fashion challenge blog that Ronnie turned me on to. We have also been doing a lot of reading and I have been hooked on a video game (Legend of Zelda:The Phantom Hourglass) that Urian brought down for us.

The couple of times we did make it into the Centro, we were excited to see all of the Mexican flags and decorations for the celebration of Mexican Independence on September 16th. If you think the 4th of July is a big deal in the states, you ain't seen
Agave NeedlesAgave NeedlesAgave Needles

I cut these off our agaves this morning...SHARP!
nothing! Mexican pride is seen everywhere these last few weeks and even when you can't see it, you can certainly hear it by all of the firecrackers! We haven't decided exactly what we are going to do on the actual 16th as we have heard both parties telling us to avoid it and others tell us not to miss it.

Yesterday afternoon, as I was taking Byron for his walk, we pulled off to the side of the road to let one of our neighbors drive slowly passed. As I was waving to them, I began to feel a sharp tingle on my left foot...I looked down quickly and sure enough, there was a big red ant, hunched over and probing it's stinger into me. I kicked off my flip-flop (barely missing Byron's face) and had to brush off the fire ant. That's when the burn started to set in. I walked Byron back as fast as I could, but the pain was getting pretty intense and my foot was already swelling. We finally made it home and Ronnie took excellent care of me. He found out that it was venom that had entered my foot and that the
Perfect PepperPerfect PepperPerfect Pepper

The most beautiful and flavorful we have ever had
sting usually lasts for 1-6 hours. Sadly for my case, it felt like I was being stung for 6 hours. Ronnie even went to all the pharmacies around (without being able to speak much spanish) to ask if they had aloe vera. No one did. Apparently, everyone just cuts it off of their own plants. Today, my foot is all better and it is hard to believe how much pain such a little creature could cause.

Tonight, the two of us are heading out for a nice dinner to celebrate Ronnie's 32nd birthday. It should be an interesting night with all of the celebrating going on around us already!

Next week, our next set of visitors arrive! Yay! My mom, step-dad Mitch and Grandma Shirley are here. We are so excited to see them and can't wait for our adventures together.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

A Mexican TruckA Mexican Truck
A Mexican Truck

made with a VW Beetle...
Fireside DinnerFireside Dinner
Fireside Dinner

Our first fire on our patio and dinner
Pillow ThiefPillow Thief
Pillow Thief

As soon as a pillow hits the ground...someone finds it
Makeover : Before ShotMakeover : Before Shot
Makeover : Before Shot

Byron's First Mexican Haircut
AfterAfter
After

A new pup
Thursday Night DinnerThursday Night Dinner
Thursday Night Dinner

Steak, Beans, Broccoli and Coffee...yep...we're cowboys


23rd September 2008

ouchie!
Sorry about your foot! OMG Byron's hair is so short! Happy Birthday Ronnie! I ran into Urian the other day - he said he had fun but his a** exploded while he was there!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb