They are growing up...


Advertisement
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had the kids over last night. ALL of them. We were 15 in total, ranging rom 5 to 22. My apartment is completly trashed, with crumbs, baseball caps, and little toys. It was a fun night. My neighbor who lives down stairs who is the son of the land lady and who is autistic ended up in my apartment beacuse the kids had the door open. It was quite a suprise, he ending up taking my empty box of Trix cereal with him.
The night was fun, but it was certinaly different then what I was used to. The composition of the house is completly different than it used to be, most of the kids are teenagers.
We have an 11 year old girl, two 12 year old girls and a 13 year old girl.
We also have two 14 year old boys, a 15 year old boy and Carmelo, our 17 year old.
It was quite an experience in teenage agnst and crushes.
This is how it goes.
Esli likes Carmelo (I think). Anna likes Mario, as does Alison. Lupe like Jorge. Poor Sebastian isn't liked by anybody right now beacuse he was apparantly dating Anna, Alsion and a girl from the other side of the wall. Now he's dating no one.
The girls spent the entire night fretting over the boys and trying to hit on them (which pretty much means sitting next to them on the bed or couch). Mario looked slightly uncomfortable, Carmelo didn't really seem to know what was going on and neither did Jorge.
However, I went to the terrace, and I found Carmelo and Esli. Then I went back out there a few minutes later and found Jorge and Lupe. Nothing was going on, but it was dark and "romantic".
Then they put my blanket on the couch, and a few of them "dissapeard" under it for a few seconds. Again, nothing happened, I tickled their feet before it could. (*Gasp* they might have kissed!).
Then, about an hour later, after the boys went outside to play soccer, Anna asked me if I could give her some advice. She asked me about the boyfriends that I had and what would I do if one of my friends and I liked the same guy (Alison and Mario). I really had no idea what to say, since I have never really had that problem. I asked her what she thought was more important, a friend or a guy. She said friend, but we'll see what happens. She also told me the sotry of the only time she'd been in love, and how it ended with her heart breaking (she's 12 and this was with Sebastian). I told her that most guys under the 18 (yeah, I fudged that number, isn't it really 30 or something?) don't understand anything and all they really want to do is play soccer. She agreed.
I'm not sure that I want the kids over all at once again. I don't think I can hadle all of these hormones. I think gender seperated visits will be good for a while, at least until Hannah gets here and I can get some help making sure there's not too much alone time on the terrace for the couples. My guess is that in a week, if I remember correctly from when I was 13 and 14, the couples and likes and dislikes will change.
The best part is, if you ask any one of the guys if they have a girlfriend, they all blush and run away.
I also overheard Esli asking Mario which girl he liked better, Anna or Alison. I really don't think that's going to end well.
I guess we'll see!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb