Fútbol y Fiesta


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » Guanajuato
September 9th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola!
Sorry it's been a while since I last wrote. Things have been pretty busy here for me, but I've also been having a lot of fun. The weekend before last I went to a chef expo with Jesús, as he had to go for his school. I got to sample lots of delicious food and also watch him and his classmates help out a somewhat famous Mexican chef do a demonstration. She made this amazing looking cake (see picture) but it of course was way above my level of baking skills, so I won't be making this cake anytime soon. On Sunday our group went to a fútbol (soccer) game in Leon. You probably know that soccer is the popular sport here, and everyone is pretty crazy about it, so it was great to experience a game. It really wasn't TOO crazy or anything, as Leon is in the second division - kind of like a minor league I suppose. The crowd definitely gots into the game though. Leon won 2-1 so that made it even more exciting.
Last week I was busy with classes and working on projects, as I had group presentations yesterday and today. I
The crowdThe crowdThe crowd

on the Leon side - not full, but plenty of people
also spent a lot of time with my Mexican friends I have made, which is always a lot of fun. It's nice to hang out with people and only speak Spanish. And one of my friends will correct any mistakes I make when I speak, so it is very helpful.
Saturday we had a big fiesta here at my house for my host father's 60th birthday. Jesús of course made all of the food, and it was really quite amazing. The first course was a hollowed out tomato with cheese, olives, and some sort of sauce on the inside, plus a piece of fried banana stuck in the center. The main course was a type of steak with risotto and asparagus. (Again, see pictures) It is so hard to explain how delicious it all tasted, so you'll just have to trust me. The party lasted for about 12 hours, from 3:30 pm to 4 am and was so much fun. There was also karaoke which everyone had a good time with. My host sisters sang English songs with me and I tried some Spanish songs which was really pretty difficult. My family really knows how to throw a party/party
Of Course...Of Course...Of Course...

there is a mariachi band at the futbol game
in general so it was definitely a good time. 😊
Other than that not much has been going on. I am no longer in my class with Mexican students - as it was just impossible for me. After talking a lot with my advisors back home and making sure I would be okay without the class, I dropped it. And I feel so much better without it! I really didn't want to be spending every minute of every free day trying to read Spanish novels. I know one of the reasons I am here is for school but I don't want to be stressed or frustrated because it will just get in the way of the experience.
I have a four day weekend coming up, as we do not have classes Monday or Tuesday. Tues is Independence Day, and the celebration starts the night before at 11 pm. I am very excited for this!!! Hope you all are doing well! Much love! Chao!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

waterwater
water

You can't bring your bottled water in, but of course they can pour it in a plastic baggie for you and give you a straw. Actually this is very common in Mexico - you can buy lots of drinks on the streets that come in bags. I don't know...strange to me.
after the gameafter the game
after the game

Notice all of the police in the back - waiting for the players to come out.
chefs expochefs expo
chefs expo

the cake made during the demonstration. not a great picture as it is a picture of a screen..but maybe you can get the idea.
a house that fella house that fell
a house that fell

because of all of the rain/humidity. Of course this road is now blocked off - which has changed all of the routes and causes even more traffic jams. And two weeks after it's happened, the house still hasn't been touched. But I guess there is some sort of problem with whose responsibility it is to clean it up, who knows.
Julia at the partyJulia at the party
Julia at the party

host parents' grandchild. She is a sweetheart and is hilarious, but is only my amiga on certain days. Sometimes she won't say a word to me, and other times she won't leave my side - last night we drew tortugas (turtles) together...
the appetizerthe appetizer
the appetizer

yum...thankfully jesús made one especially for me - without olives.
The main courseThe main course
The main course

AMAZING!!!
RobertoRoberto
Roberto

(Julia's sister) holding a family friend's baby.
the partythe party
the party

in the garden/"back yard" of our house. It's pretty much a perfect space to have a party
singing karaokesinging karaoke
singing karaoke

with my sister Fátima
father and sonfather and son
father and son

doing some karaoke. pretty much everyone took a turn. I think there was always someone singing until the party ended.
BertBert
Bert

This is the 66 year old student that has also been living in the house for the last 3 weeks (and leaves on Sat). After he had a few too many, he decided to sing, and dance to, some Ricky Martin.


10th September 2008

Futbol -
Hi Sara: Just got caught up on your blog. I sometimes miss it for days. The house pictures are just what I imagined. Cozy and colorful. Love the outside color. Your host parents are glamorous. Who is Jesus again? Their son? I love the culture of other countries but sometimes museum hopping is tiresome. After awhile they all look alike. Keep safe and continue to have fun. I will read with pleasure your next blog. I have to relay everything to Jim since he never goes on a computer especially mine. Lv Kas
13th September 2008

Great Entry
Sara, What a great blog entry. I especially like the pictures of family and friends. It looks like you are having a great time. Liquid in a bag with a straw huh? That would take some getting used to I would bet. I can't wait to see some pictures of the Independence Day celebrations. Have fun, and you know what I always say - be smart, be safe. Love, Dad
16th September 2008

Mid-September
Hi Sara, Another week has come and gone, and it looks like you've had more fun experiences to add to your memory bank. The soccer game looked pretty amazing, but the food pictures made my mouth water! Your host family parties like college kids...into the wee hours! Don't forget to get enough rest! Thanks for taking time for pictures and letting us into your life right now. Have a great week! Love, thoughts, and prayers, Aunt Kris

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb