Day 2. Messing about on the River


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Black pearlBlack pearlBlack pearl

'Our boat' the black pearl
Day 2 and I woke at the crack of dawn. 5.30 am, which NEVER happens - I simply don't *do* mornings!!

The boy wasnt far behind me and we felt quite lively.

After collecting my BILs son we headed out for barbacoa for breakfast which was a great experience. Proper Street food on the side of the road at plastic tables. The food was absolutely delicious maybe helped by how hungry we were!!

Then we headed out to Xochimilco. The organisation was chaos, but once we were on all organised it was fabulous.

If you haven't been or seen, it's a very traditional Mexican Sunday lunchtime event. We took a brightly painted boat decked out with table and chairs on a cruise down the river we had ours to ourselves- me and the boy, my sister and BIL, his son and an aunt and uncle. You take your own food and drink, but as you go you get other smaller baots coming up,to sell you food and drink.

I tried a very interesting corn on the cob, served hot with mayonnaise (?!) and cheese. Sounds weird but was lovely. We also had a band tether to us and do a 20 minute set of music, from the North of the country. I didn't know any of the songs of course but my sister translated one about a drug deal gone wrong and the dangers of crossing a women in love. All in excellent fun. We saw a mariachi band but didn't get one to play directly to us



After the boat ride we headed into a nearby town- can't recall what it was called, and wandered the market, but by this point the boy and I could barely stand and just wanted home, so I can barely recall it at all.

Eventually we wound up at Chilli's for dinner, watching Mexico in the football finals which they won 3-1.

Bed was SO welcome when it finally arrived!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb