Mexico City July- August 2015


Advertisement
Published: July 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today was our travel day.
Our party consisted of me, (an overweight 44 year old) and my lovely (ginger and therefore burns super easily)10 year old son. We are spending 3 weeks in Mexico with my sister and her husband who live in Mexico City. The plan is to spend the first two weeks around Mexico City and out to surrounding areas and the last week in Acapulco.
We left a miserable Heathrow on the busiest Saturday of the year to make the 11 hour 20 minute flight to Mexico City.
Due to a "too good to refuse" upgrade offer we travelled in British Airways' Premium Economy section aka World Traveller Plus.
It was fantastic. Seats were super and food was great, but what really made it was the air stewards.
We had 3 chaps who were all lovely. They were impressed that Sam and I seemed to be paying attention to the safety talk and commented on this. They then proceeded to spoil us rotten for the entire flight culminating in the gift of 8 "leftover" bottles of wine and a trip for Sam to the pilots cockpit to meet the captain. It was a really pleasant flight.
Immigration and Baggage reclaim took an age but I had only the slightest question about my son and I not sharing surnames before we were cleared.
Then we were through and out to find out welcome committee!!! Finally got wifi to find a Whatsapp saying they were delayed so we waited. And waited. And waited.
After about 45 minutes my sister finally arrived. We were utterly bushed but it was only 9pm local time so we drove back towards their house and stopped when almost back for tacos.
I wasn't certain if I was hungry or tired but we ate a little then got home and crashed out after a very very long day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb