Staight into Mexico City


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Mexico City I was picked up by the Hostel Amigos taxi driver Miguel and was straight into the swing of speaking using my really basic Spanish. Desgraciadiemente - fortunately he was really patient, friendly and happy to chat about whatever we could find the vocab for.

Having put my bags down to my horror in a room full of sleeping people I stood there thinking - errr what do I do now.... till a kiwi girl called Lis started chatting and within an hour a group of us were out of the hostel exploring the city having a great laugh. My new pals Lis, Suzanne, Mimi and I headed to Chapultepec Park and played on the pedalows, visited the brilliant modern art museum and were lucky to see the Voladores de Papantla, imagine the May pole dancers but instead of just doing pretty dance around a tall pole, these men hung by their feet and spun round in traditional costume.

Mexico City is a brilliant place, my Spanish needs lots more practice but for now I´m really happy to have had a brilliant first day and have some cool people to hang round with. Si

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb