5 days and counting...


Advertisement
Published: July 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all and welcome back!

To those of you who followed the Ghana chronicles, I hope I can continue to delight and entertain. For any newbies to the blog, a hearty welcome.

As some of you might know, I am headed to Mexico this coming Sunday for six weeks in a country that I feel I already know by heart. For the first week I will be seeing the sights of DF (Mexico City, for the layman among us) with two girlfriends from Elon, Becca and Kara. We shall hike up ruins! Traverse cobblestone streets! Step over the threshold of Frida Kahlo's blue house and marvel at her genius! For the final five weeks, I will continue on alone to attend la Universidad de Guadalajara and live with what I can only assume will be a lovely woman named Ulba. While there I have been told that the majority of my time will be spent drinking mango margaritas and visiting tequila plantations. Such is the difficult life of a graduate student.

This trip feels like the completion of a long journey for me. I remember so distinctly sitting in 8th grade Spanish class and having the world open up for me. Only a couple of years prior to that my family took a day trip across the border from Texas into Matamoros, Mexico. We ate tacos off the street (gasp!) and drank Coca-Cola (double gasp!). The combination of these two events paved the way to discovering my first love... and now I get to return to see in 3-D technicolor all of the history, art and culture I have ooh-ed and ahh-ed about in books for so long. Dare we call it a homecoming?

I will update this as often as I have time and something interesting to say. My heart fills up at the thought of it and my mind dances the whirly-gig in excitement. After two and a half years, finally, Latin America.



Advertisement



10th July 2009

Full Spiral
Well, I fell in love with the Spanish language when my Peruvian teacher told us that boys were unclean because they "tocan el pene" while they pee. But your story is also good.

Tot: 0.218s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1009s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb