I'm out!


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Volta » Ho
February 1st 2008
Published: February 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last day at the orphanage was a day like any other, really. I got frustrated a lot, I had a kid on my lap or in my arms for 80% of the time, and I cried a bit at the end. Picture, if you will, climbing into a van after a long day of running around. Your white T-shirt is now brown, your feet look like they will never get clean, and so many tiny pairs of hands have been through your hair that it is matted together. You close the door (on a fellow volunteers leg- sorry Michael) and look back as the van drives away. There are about 50 kids, most no older than 6, waving good-bye to you and smiling.

I didn't tell the kids I was leaving. Most of them wouldn't have understood what I was saying. I did learn how to say "I will miss you" in Ewe, so I was giving those out like presents at Christmas. Most of them just smiled, and nodded their heads.

Leaving tomorrow is a crazy thing. I haven't wrapped my head around it yet, mostly because I'm not ready to. Some of you may be thinking the following: "She's only been there three weeks!" But to you naysayers, I must ask: think back upon the significant events in your lives. Were they significant because of the amount of time they took to transpire? I doubt it. They are significant because they change us in some way, open our eyes, mold our beliefs into a more solid, unquestioning whole.

And so! I can't wait to see you all soon! Thank you so much for reading and keeping in touch. It makes it worth the long internet waits when I get comments and messages... I will be posting pictures up to this site sometime next week, so keep an eye out.

Love to all, Miadogo.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb