First half of our first day in Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Tuxtla Gutiérrez
January 26th 2011
Published: June 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

028028028

My first hotel room :)
The taxi drive to our hotel was uneventful, except for that one point when the silence was broken by a "HOWWWWWWWWWWWWL!" over the radio. Completely random, but it did create chuckles.

We didn't arrive to our final destination until well past midnight, so of course, I was more than ready to jump into the bed and pass out. Sure, I should have showered after being on the road for as long as I have but there's two problems with that;

1: It would have woken me up which would make it tough to get back to sleep.
2: No hair dryer. Mom always warned me about sleeping with wet hair...

Now don't worry, I did get to it, but after my nice long sleep. Well... not exactly long, as everyone had to be up before 8 if we were going to have breakfast (which was a rule whenever we were staying together as a group. You miss it, you had to buy your own breakfast).

After breakfast, there was a couple hours to ourselves which could be used to pack or wander around a bit (not by ourselves of course). A few of
029029029

The hallway of the hotel. It's nice :)
us went out together to view stuff at street vendors, one looking at sunglasses and touristy bags along the way. Eventually, we went looking for a place that had wireless, which in Mexico, was the equivalent of finding a needle in a haystack. We ended up having to settle with a cyber cafe that wasn't too far from our hotel, thus I had my first experience having to use a computer in a cyber cafe.

Not the best experience I must say, as not only did I have to stare at the keyboard and try to figure out which key to get which letter/number/etc (it was a Spanish keyboard. fun fun), but the page loading was uber slow. When I was about to do my emailing, there was maybe between a half hour to an hour of time left before I had to be packed and ready to leave (12 noon). Barely managed to get an email to my parents (only managed a few lines) and barely was able to log out of my Facebook account (took forever to login because of security [had to varify it was really me because I was accessing it in a foreign
034034034

Some public transportation
location. laaame!] only to not be able to check a thing or send any messages to anyone.) before my remaining classmate was hustling me out the door. Managed to squeeze everything back into my luggage, but barely. Why is it that every time you repack, the weight shift changes greatly and things never seem to fit even though they fit when you first packed?

Thus began the long drive to our ultimate destination: San Cristobal de las Casas.

~Kedi~


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

036036
036

Tried getting picture of Mexican flag.. didn't realize I was catching a part of a military base or something. Though I don't think you can really tell in this picture..
037037
037

???????
044044
044

What I figure most Mexican homes look like
055055
055

An island but you can't really tell too much.. should have used the panoramic setting
078078
078

Random. I just thought it's funny because it looks like the tree on the left is taking off the head off the tree on the right.
087087
087

We're heere San Cristobal!


Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb