Pre-Mexico: The long travel


Advertisement
North America
January 25th 2011
Published: February 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

010010010

Random picture on the bus. I thought of the irony that we were parked there... but it was in the middle of the night so no one was around.
It was strange sensation going to the school so late at night, but quite exciting. Already there were a number of people gathered in the designated waiting spot, which was the cafeteria. When our coordinator arrived, he asked if we had all photocopied the important pieces of ID for in case we lost them or got it stolen. Good thing he asked, as I didn't remember to and my only piece of ID that would get accepted anywhere was my passport.

Thankfully, any of us who forgot to, went off with our coordinator (G*) to get them photocopied. A few copies should do...

We returned to the waiting area and when the bus arrived, I was most disappointed. It looked to me to be just a regular school bus. Aww... no charter?

However, on entry, I found out that I was quite mistaken about the interior. Unfortunately it wasn't too much more comfortable than a normal school bus... the windows were frozen over on the inside and the heat was badly distributed. Just imagine a really hot jet of wind blowing at your feet while the upper half of your body's freezing... Makes it
018018018

Flying over Mexico City. I jumped... didn't take any over Chicago though I don't think anyone'd really be able to tell that much of a difference (at least to me) due to distance.
hard to sleep doesn't it? Didn't manage to sleep, as both times I had to get off the bus when I was just about to pass out (at the mid-way stop and then the airport).

It was rather interesting entering the Pearson airport at a time when there was hardly a soul in sight (usually passed through when it's busy). We parked ourselves at a bunch of seats in a corner on the side of the 'room' that we were going to need to do check-in at, and where we can wait for the few others to come (they had to do detours so they came on their own). The group of us were given individual sheets with flight information and such that we had to keep and not lose.

Not too long after, I decided to go looking for it for no reason whatsoever; Couldn't find it. Imagine that feeling of despair of losing an important document before having gone anywhere. Fortunately for me, I had only just dropped it on the floor (I looked down at the floor for no particular reason and it was there).

One of my classmates had a worse scare; When we were in line to do luggage check-in, she discovered that she didn't have her passport. Upside-down, inside-out, she checked every possible spot it could be. Nothing. Then, just when it seemed like she was going to be left behind, a person in line caught the attention of a security guy who happened to have it. Score! That would have been horrible to pay all these fees only to not be able to go because of a lost passport.

From luggage check-in to the end of the flight to Chicago, nothing worth mentioning occurred (except that ironically I forgot my drink under my seat when I thought I was reminding a classmate about something on her seat and that the plane was cramped). Inside Chicago's airport, went through the coolest looking tunnel EVER! Flashy neon lights and a nice soft colored and glowing wall panels (or whatever they're called). It wasn't until we were well past through it that I figured I should have taken a picture.

The flight to Mexico City was a nightmare. Spent like 15 minutes taxiing
020020020

Inside the food court of the Mexico City airport ;o nice service ;P
(and stopped) total, taxied to some spot where the plane was sprayed with some stuff so the wings won't freeze over, moved on, sat for a while longer, before we finally took off. Thus begun the long 5 hour flight to Mexico City.

This was one flight that I couldn't get a good rest on, as it was hot and the way I slept dehydrated me quite a bit. Taking broken naps here and there also gave me a killer headache. Lovely. Other than that, the plane ride was fine until the last 20 mins or so when the plane started to rise in altitude and dropped rapidly multiple times which, if it kept up any longer than it did, would have made me sick. Best part was the sketchy landing when I could feel this really strong swerve the plane made which almost made my heart stop. . . I must confess though I thought that was the funnest thing afterwards.

Mexico City International Airport! Wasn't as bad as I thought it'd be.. probably because it's a major airport so it ought to be in good condition, if not in tip top shape. Had an awkward moment of having to refill this form sheet twice, because the first one I had separated a part which I thought -I- was supposed to separate. Apparently not.. second form I wrote down wrong thing so I had to do it a third time. Like they say, 3 time's the charm.

It was in this airport where we had our first meal in Mexico, and I had the fun of trying to order. It didn't go over so well because I was mixing English with EspaƱol (you know how it is... the typical 'I don't really know how to say this so I'll just fill in some English...'😉. Also, typical to how I talk when I'm nervous, I spoke too fast. :P Patient and helpful fellow (he spoke English).. his friendliness kept me from slinking away in embarrassment. Surprisingly I did well (I'm rather shy), asking him what he recommended. Can't remember what they were called but the 'main dish' was soft tacos, and with some kind of soup on the side that he said was some sort of bean soup. It didn't look like one as I didn't really see any beans in it and there was some kind of stuff in it that looks like sponge that was soft, not the mushy soft. One of my classmates declared that I "made a new friiiiiiend" which was kind of suggestive the way she was saying it. Personally I think he was just being nice. I was tempted to go back to at least ask the name of the soup again but didn't. Regretful... Oh yea, got a few hard candies too with the meal... which were... well... rather hot.

(At this point I am quite out of it. Going as long as I have with no good rest is a tough job)

While in line for the check-in for Tuxtla, one of the group, who for some time was feeling rather sick, asked for a plastic bag. Uh-oh. Anyone got a plastic bag?! Well, seems to be that I was the only one around with a plastic bag on me to spare (just had to empty it first). Thankfully that was the only time she lost her meals before we got to Mexico...

The flight to Tuxtla was interesting, as I got stuck in the middle of two strangers. As we took into the air, I kept staring out the window and out of the corner of my eye, noticed the gentleman seated by it peering at me on occasion which made me stare out the window less. Did he think I was staring at him? Not too long later he asked me for the time and I showed him my watch and mumbled it in English. Then he asked me if I didn't speak Spanish (which I didn't), and from that point on, we had mini conversations scattered along the duration of the flight.

He spoke a little bit of English, sometimes saying something that no matter how many times I got him to repeat (without getting irritating) it, I still couldn't figure it out (he had quite the accent). For someone his age (late 40s) and dressed the way he was (he was in a suit), it was nice to find out how relaxed he was, joking around and all. Charming. Fun part was when we were getting close to descending when I really felt my ears popping and hurting like crazy. Plastered my right hand over my right ear in a futile attempt to ease the pain. The guy asked me if my ear(s) were hurting through motion, and I nodded. Later I looked over to see him doing same thing and he made motion that his ear was hurting too. Too cute and funny that he did the same thing!

Finally we were done with flights, but the travel wasn't over yet! We had to ride taxis all the way to our hotel arranged as such so that at least one person in each taxi knew at least basic Spanish. Interestingly enough, it looked like we were driving through a rural road back in Canada; mostly because it was night time and we were going down a rural road. My classmate who was in the same taxi coincidentally also had that same impression.

~Kedi~

* Will be coding the names of people for privacy

Advertisement



3rd February 2011

good recount
a nice recap of your flights and bus rides. Looking forward to your future entries

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb