Chiapas State


Advertisement
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Break out Break out Break out

I finally out of the hotel room and taking in the museum and market sites
11hrs and some puke later, I arrive in San Cristobal as sick as a dog. Vomiting all over myself half way through the longest bus ride I've taken yet was only the beginning. Not much fun trying to stop yourself from puking for 6hrs whilst still covered in the 1st lot of puke, but I managed. Had to catch up with myself for an hour before I could cross the road from the bus station to the nearest hotel, where I lay all day and puked some more. The next day was similar, I don't know if it's a good thing that I enjoyed the meal so much that did this to me. Even in my deepest darkest illest moments (they were to come), I still had to say, 'damn that was a tasty meal', perhaps it was the munchies that made it taste so good but in the end it was very very bad.

One days reprieve, which is when I met the guy who had sat next to me during the whole ill fated trip to San Cristobal. When the puke started flying he opted for turning his head and holding his nose. No help but I guess I had to thankful he wasn't complaing, just huffing and puffing and holding his nose. He denied it, but was clearly unimpressed by the whole thing and smell. Salvador, who was from Mexico City stroke Puerto Escondido, was up for visiting Cañòn Del Sumidero also so this is when he became my travel buddy proper. The guide books weren't joking about it being cheaper to travel in numbers and having someone to travel with meant that I could go and see things that I wouldn't have solo. It was totally amazing and vast, and taller than I could have possibly imagined. The monkey, bird and crocodile spotting were a bonus, but what really caught me was the size of the place. Touring along the river I saw the whole thing from the bottom, the colour of the water changed from brown, to green (several greens) and then azul, a treat for my eyes.

The next day and back to the sickness. Yes now it was time for something new, diarrhea, whoohoo and some, and some more, and some more and some more. Be thankful I didn't write about this soon after the experience. From responses to my emails, I was very graphic, too graphic about the whole entire thing. Two days of this and I'm finally back on track and now lacing everything I eat with salt, pepper (salsa) and lime. Musa would be proud of me. I've never been much of a pepper girl, always told Maja that these things are best used when necessary and in a country that needs it, here I am, and I've taken to it like a true West Indian.

I made a stylish recovery and headed to Baños Del Carmen with my traveling companion Salvador. Amongst other places we did Comitan de Dominguez, Lagos de Montebello and Palenque.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Lake Montebello 3Lake Montebello 3
Lake Montebello 3

that little dot in the water is me
On the fiesta busOn the fiesta bus
On the fiesta bus

This bus saved our arses and the people were lovely, merenga and marinba all the way back to San Cristobal
Agua AzulAgua Azul
Agua Azul

not very blue this time of year


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb