Home (to) Stay


Advertisement
Published: June 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Here I am writing about my first of two days since I came to the homestay. You heard me right. I put the entry date as the 29th but I'm writing the post on the 30th. Last night I forgot to click 'auto-connect' with the wireless internet and I completely forgot about that, closing my Netbook temporary when I wasn't using it. I felt too embarassed to ask for the password again so soon after getting it, so I waited until this morning to ask again.

Yesterday morning started off well enough, making it to breakfast on time and finding out there that two of my classmates were out of commission ('violently sick' as they put it) so they'd be staying at the hotel until they're well enough to move to their homestays. After breakfast we had to re-pack which is something I apparently have trouble doing because I keep re-arranging things, always ending up with one of my two luggage was overstuffed. -sigh-

The lobby of the hotel was the gathering spot, which soon became a bit crowded with both bodies and luggage. A couple here, a couple with child there, so on and so forth... After everyone arrived, the students all got maps of the city (a good map mind you, not a handdrawn messing-with-you map) that had a numbered list on the bottom right (the homestays were marked out on the map with encircled numbers). Then, the person who was in charge of homestay arrangements (I swear she's a one-woman network that connects with alot of key people. She deals with homestays, doctors , and who knows what else) started reading off her list the name of the head of the homestay and then the names of the pair that will be staying with them.

I'll be honest here. When it came to mine, I took one look at my homestay mom and thought she was one scary looking woman (not sure how to describe her, but I can say she was taller than her husband and not skinny ). Eeek! Thankfully she's nice and really not all that scary.

Looking at my map, I noticed me and my partner were on the farthest-most part of the city. Most of the group were centered pretty close to the main part of the city while we were far out-of-the way. At least, there was a pair staying in the home right next to us and then there was another pairing that wasn't as far out as we were but still a distance off from everyone else.

Our homestay parents had came in their car so we packed our bags into it and hopped in. As we drove along I was staring out the window and to my pleasant surprise, we passed by the museum we dropped by the other day for the site hunt. Still staring straight out the window, I noticed that the fellow out front was the same guy who helped us out yesterday (the guard that is). I was tempted to randomly holler out, "HOLAAAAAAAA!!" but that would have been awkward for everyone involved (though I suppose a random greeting isn't that bad, just confusing for the recipient if they don't remember who the greeter is).

Our homestay is a-maz-ing! So spacious, decent bathrooms, relatively quiet location, and I can hang out on the roof! Woooooo! I think me and my classmate (J*) are the only ones who could go on the roof of our homestay. I spy with my little eyes... the corner of a bed in my neighbouring classmates' room. I sound like such a creeper in saying that, but it's true, and privacy isn't as obsessed about here in Mexico compared to back home in Canada.

The stairs however (to the roof and ground level), are not my favourite... so narrow in more ways than one. I was coming back down to get my second luggage, and in my hurry, slipped on a stair and scrapped my arm on the railing. Too narroooow (skinny staircase, steps, and short stair spacing)! Since this incident I've been extra careful on the stairs (I'm used to running up and down the stairs at home). It ended up that my homestay dad took it up a different set of stairs (one more 'normal' than the ones I had to navigate) through their room, another room (it's a strange arrangement. there's no way to access that room without going through either of the other rooms), and into my room.

My room totally rocks too; Pretty big and spacious (bigger than my classmate's. Muwahahahaha!), nice bright colors (walls and the curtains were a nice minty color), an absolutely gorgeous painting hanging over the head of the bed (brilliantly colored painting of a male deer deep in a forest with sunlight streaming through the tree tops. Catches your imagination doesn't it?), really nice headboard (which has a pair of swans carved into it facing each other) and it was a nice double bed (sturdy). Then, I kid you not, there's that creepy (but fascinating) coat hanger that is a board with hoofs as the place to hang the coats on. Don't ask me if they're real because I'd rather not know.

Later on we met their daughter (one of three. they also have a son) who's still living in the home. She's older than she looks... so maybe that kid who said she was 10 really was 10. Better keep my mouth shut about ages before I make myself look stupid. She speaks a bit of English so I can communicate a bit with her.

-sigh- It's getting late and there's a pretty loud party (music absolutely blaring. what kind of party is that if you can't hear even yourself?) going on at a small home across the street, a bit to the left. Pleeease may it stop soon so I can sleep... Tomorrow I'll be going to a place called Monte Sion, by public transit for a change.

~Kedi~

* In case you forgot I'm lettering people :p

Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb