Scavenger Hunt: Site Location Edition


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from San Cristobal!

Today we started off with what I called 'Scavenger Hunt: Site Location Edition'. Now why would I call it that? Well I suppose I don't have much of a good reason to, as it's not quite a scavenger hunt. The only thing relevant is that we're out searching for things, though in this case, we were looking for specific places. You would maybe think, how hard can that be? Just grab a map and go search them out.

Well, try finding locations with a badly hand drawn map given by your coordinator. Also, try doing it while broken up into trios and without communicating with any of the other groups, let alone come into close proximity (we were told that if we do come into proximity, to cross the street and whatnot. Or at least, pretend we don't know them. However... we generally ignored that rule. Hey guys!!! -waves-). Lastly, if you do need directions from someone, you have to ask it in EspaƱol (if you're like me, that's a challenge). Fun fun. At least, between me and my two partners, we could just work off of each other.

The hunt took us about 4 hours, going from one end of the city to the other. We covered most of the sites (which mostly were chapels or cathedrals), only missing one due to time crunch. That was fine with me, as I've had enough of walking and the final site we had to cover was another uphill climb.

A Confession: We had trouble finding the gift shop. It wasn't so obvious... especially since it wasn't in the museum itself. We found our way to the museum entrance (that I can't help but keep thinking it's a sidedoor. Almost one of those 'designed for the entrance to be here but it ended up being on the other side of the building'. Almost like my college) and while hovering around the gate, the guard let us in. We sat down on a bench trying to figure out where the gift shop was while at the same time trying to figure out how to ask the guard where it was. Eventually the question was roughly put together and asked of the guard (not before another guy there joined up . Why'd I mention this? No real good reason but that they were both cute -cough cough- and nice).

The gift shop was pointed out to us as being across the street, through the wooden gate (the place was enclosed by a wired fence that was covered in foliage. It was almost like a whole 'nother world.) and over we went. We seriously thought we were in the wrong place because, at least for me, the gift shop wasn't blaringly obvious. Took us a while to realize that it was the log building on the right. Not sure what the other building is... and there was a small garden in there 😊 wonder what they grow since it isn't spring...

After finally finding the gift shop and returning back to base (we were second or third team back), I was ready to crash. Tomorrow we're going to a place called San Juan Chamula where apparently we won't be able to take pictures of anything there due to local sensitivity (can't even have a camera out, so says my teachers). Awww...

Anyhow, my legs seem to be doing ok right now, but I bet that tomorrow I won't be able to get out of bed.

~Kedi~


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb