Palenque


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Palenque
July 22nd 2008
Published: July 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Palenque was the site of these incredible and vast Mayan ruins, a city to rival Guatamala's Tikal, which I will visit at the end of my trip. I got to explore them the first day we arrived, and although it was raining for most of the day, I was still awestruck. I'm afraid I have no words to do them justice, but I spent a good three hours exploring all the ruins and the surrounding jungle, whcih gives some idea of their vastness. I hope my photos will show them off somewhat, but I am too lazy to wait for them to upload. I am using the hostel computer which is particularly slow.

From Palenque I visited the the nearby Agua Clara, a huge river that forms almost laes of wonderful clear blue water, that tourists usually take advantage and swim in. Unfortunately it is the rainy season, and it is less Clara, and more brown. I walked over this rikety old bridge that went over it, and although I was vaguely aware that many of the old slats of wood were either rotting or missing, and therefor slightly dangerous, it was much more fun walking over the swaying bridge, carefully treading and vieing the huge roaring river below, than if it was a sturdy metal structure with safety signs.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1798s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb