Cobbers, Campfires, Tequilla, and Taxis!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
February 6th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So we are on day 4 I think, I don't really care what day it is or the date at this point and I love it. We have been cobbing up until today which was r first day off. Some stayed at the camp ground and relaxed, some went into town for laundry, lunch and hot tubs, and Mandi and I chose to check t del Cabo (about an hour and a half drive away). Pat (the coordinator) was going into town to pick up the last 2 cobbers Gulia atnd Dustin so dropped Mandi and I off for 2 hours to tcheck out the city, allot of touristy stuff, every store selling the same thing, but it was nice to be in a more developed area for a bit - I am a city girl after all!

Was good to sleep in though and hang out until about 11:30am. Pat was nice and treated us to dinner.

The past couple days have been wonderful, we are in a cooler part and the winds do make it quite chilly but it's still gorgeous, I wish I could bring the stars and the sky back with us!!!!

We will be cobbing the next 5 days then have 3 days off in which we will probably end up checking out a previous site or road tripping somewhere, not sure though.

Mandi and I have officially hitch hiked for the first time! Hahaha leave it to Mexico. Got a ride into town a couple days ago, saves us a half hour walk through the desert. Just stick the ol' thumb out and on the way to get drinks a pick-up truck came by and we jumped in the back. I say "Vamos a Tios" "We are going to Tios" which is a pub in town, and you just hit the side of the truck when you want them to stop - easy enough! Don't worry mom, I will not be hitch hiking back in Alberta!!!! People are good in these parts and know us cobbers well. When we arrived in town we were recognized by our dirty clothes and big smiles and heard stories of the previous cobbers before us and how fond the people were of them. So very positive, very exciting!

Am attemting to use an apple computer here at the camp that Comb is letting me use and it keeps deleting sentences and paragraphs so may keep this a bit short.

All in all camp is great, the people are great, the food healthy and for the most part vegan/vegetarian based. I have had chicken twice though and beef 3 times! YUM - I will not be comming back a veggie lover - hee hee

We get up at 6:45am, breakfast is at 7:00am, we leave camp at 7:45am, start cobbing at the ranch around 8:30, break for fresh picked grapefruit around 10:00am, have lectures every 2 or 3 days. We mix cob batches all morning silently - which is nice and can be a way of meditating. After lunch which is prepared by a very sweet local family, we get to building walls and window sills this past week. Around 3:00pm - 3:30pm we head back to camp (we can fit 6 people in the cab of the truck and 12 in the back now!) and there are 2 other cars, I think there are about 25 of us now?... We have dinner around 5 or 6pm, fire starts up around 7pm, and I'm usually in bed around 9pm.

Thats all for now so will keep you posted when I can. I do want to experience as much as I can though so will have a much better story when I get back 😊

Adios from the Baja!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb