Day 16: Ah, Wilderness


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon
May 27th 2017
Published: May 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

IMG_6048IMG_6048IMG_6048

Into the woods?
Woke up to the coldest morning yet (41) and , even worse, couldn't get a cup of coffee: NO electricity. Everyone ( except me) wanted to take a short (1/2 mile) hike through the rocky wooded area to Lake Kathleen. Grabbed 2 bear bells I ad bought for the grandkids (boy, will their parents love me! LOL) and merrily jingled my way down the rocky path. Took a picture ( though I still think Muncho Lake is prettier) and tromped back (up hill) to our RV.
We then took off to Tok, another highly populated area (1,435). But, in the meantime, the towns ( I guess you'd call them towns ) posted even more phenomenal numbers. We passed through Haines Junction (824); Destruction Bay (55); Burwash Landing. (84) and Beaver Creek, (112). ( I wonder what their Memorial Day or 4th of July parade will be like; maybe these towns all band ---pun intended!---together for a big celebration. Well, I digress. As you can imagine, nothing too much was happening here. So, what did I do? Not much, juststarted humming the Beatles song, Long and Winding roads, because that's about all there was in front of me. The watch out signs
IMG_6049IMG_6049IMG_6049

Lake Kathleen
for grizzly bears, Caribou and trumpeter Swans( don't know how I could possibly see swans on the road! ), turned out to be another downer: maybe these "warnings "in the milepost book were put in there to show that Canada has a grand sense of humor. And so, I contented myself by looking forward to the 7 1/2% down hill grades and frost heaves in the bumpy roads. The high point of my day was I got to drive the RV three hours, although Q got a bit perturbed with me because I didn't want to break my 55 per mile speed going around the curves.
Well we got here to Tok,rhymes with poke, and no, the meaning is not what you think it is. There are many theories about how Tok got its name, but I bet you can guess what my theory is?...
And since there was not much doing , we went over to Sue and Al's for happy hour.
Tomorrow we're off to Denali...I wonder if Q will let me drive again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

IMG_6093IMG_6093
IMG_6093

my trusty bear bells


Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb