Day14: Hello, internet!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Alaska
May 26th 2017
Published: May 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

We're in Skagway! Did I we get Wifi? NO, but thank goodness for little favors, we can use 3G. So, I'm sort of caught up, but I know if you read Q's blog (3From Naples) you'll find out all that I missed, forgot, or frankly, didn't bother with!
We gained another hour so it's 4:30 a.m. And my body clock is all screwed up. In any event, I still will not go into grand detail about yesterday.
The drive was quite tedious for the most part. Those scrawny trees, the barren landscape,decided to re-enter the picture.
Finally, mountains re-appeared and we got some beautiful scenery which I felt meant we were getting close to Skagway. WRONG!
After 5 1/2 hours , we still had 2 hours to go.
I wish I had a picture of Lake Bennett but Q has it on his camera --so again, read his blog. ( I know he's a bit behind, but remember, he's been driving 8-9 hours a day and has to find time to give you a real account of all that has gone on).
The last 2 hours, which honestly felt like 12, wee horrendous.i felt no euphoria whatsoever with those mountains on either side reaching out to try to touch me. Oh xanax, where art thou????
But Q got me here safely and though we were ensconced at our RV park I reused to go out as the wind shook our RV and I think would have blown me over (no pun intended). Anyway, I've got part of today to go shopping...when the stores open, that is. I think that even though this trip is not over, I'll give you my summary, so far: THE GOOD: the weather, the magnificent mountains and lakes and expeditions, our friends, the scary hike; THE BAD: 8-9 hour days, too many time changes, the boring landscapes; THE UGLY; lack of internet.
And, personally: THE GOOD: my hair has stayed stick straight--no frizz or waves; THE BAD: the dry climate has broken my nails; THE UGLY: not one *@#**# place to get a manicure!?


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

IMG_6008IMG_6008
IMG_6008

Winding and clostrophobic


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb