Alaska trip day 15 and 16


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Watson Lake
July 19th 2016
Published: July 19th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Well plans change. We left Tok and planned to go to Watson Lake to stay but instead got to Whitehorse and we were tired so we found a motel.

Whitehorse is and interesting town with lots of history. It is the capital city of the Yukon. 27,800 folks live here and it was part of the big Yukon gold rush.

Supposedly it has the least air pollution of any city in the world. Since I have already been this way I took few pictures. Same on Day 17 as we went to Dease Lake BC

Dease lake is in the middle of nowhere and we had no phone service and no internet hence the combination of two days. We did meet a few other bikers who were at the same establishment and we sat and shared lies for quite awhile. We had fun, No restaurants in town. Only a grocery store with a deli, so Sandwiches was the menu.

Very rough road out of Watson Lake down to Dease Lake. 30 mile stretch of very loose gravel. So dusty you could not see.

About halfway there is a place that is called Jade City. They have a store there that has everything you can imagine out of Jade. Its mined locally there so they have plenty to work with



I came around a corner of the paved road and without warning there was a very huge dip in the pavement. So much so it made me go airborne and when I landed it launched my camera out of my tank bag and it hit the road and shattered.Guess I was just happy the camera was the only thing damaged. Not easy to launch a 90 0lb bike into the air. So when I get back to civilization again, I will have to find a new camera. I did manage to get the camera storage card out and salvage what I have.

Photos are from Whitehorse to Dease Lake.

You quickly learn to get gas when its available on a motorcyle because it can be very far between gas stops.

Anyhow, more mountains and lakes a trees.

I love it.

See you on day 18


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb