Happy Canada Day!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Yorkton
July 1st 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy Canada Day!

Sunday, 1 July 2007

Today dawned cool but with definite potential to get warmer as the day progressed, so I took Silver & rode towards Kamsack, on highway 8. Even though it was a quiet day for commercial transport vehicles there were still quite a few holiday-seekers out in their RV’s or pickup trucks pulling boats or mobile homes, just booting it up the highway, trying get to their destinations as quickly as possible. They weren’t nearly as considerate as those who drive for a living.

But everything went well, no serious wind problems (hooray!) and fairly flat terrain. Stopped at a tiny hamlet called Wroxton & took a few photos of a church - Russian Orthodox style - and a grain elevator (to help me remember the name of the town!). I’m sure the locals thought I was crazy.

I actually wound up waiting for Bob this time once I’d finished, which was OK, as I had the time to cool off, take the packs off the bike, getting it ready to load into Casper, and time to go take some photos of some local cows - my “friends” from my agriculture days.

It was a good ride & a good day - the only thing lacking was fireworks for the holiday. There’s a big fair held in Yorkton the week after we leave, so they save their fireworks for that. And practically every restaurant in town (especially the non-chain restaurants) was closed for the holiday, so we had to have our dinner at the local A & W - whoopdeedoo...

DAY 12: 60.4 km, in 3:22 hours, ave. speed 17.9 km/hr, max. speed 27.6 km/hr

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb