New Experience


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Saskatoon
May 19th 2014
Published: May 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

This is the very first blog I have ever created and well it feels very foreign to me. Within the next several weeks I will embark on a new journey and experience things that I have never before. Currently I am squatting at one of my closest friends apartment (thank you Brittany!!!) in Saskatoon preparing for my flight to Entebbe, Uganda. I guess the theme of this summer will be 'wanderlust'- the desire to wander or explore the world, yes it sounds cheesy but spending a month in a foreign country is definitely out of the norm for me. So there will be a lot of learning occurring these next couple of months. One is using a new forum, two learning about a new language and culture, three new job when I get back from this trip.

A little bit more information towards my trip it is educational and I will be practicing as a Registered Nurse in some clinics and hospitals in Uganda. This trip is a research project; which is a partnership created between the University of Saskatchewan (U of S) and Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST). Six (from pharmacology, nutrition, nursing, and vet med) U of S students will partner with several MUST students and do a community health assessment on some rural communities, after the assessment of the community is done then the group brain storms solutions for addresssing problem areas. During that four weeks we will also work in the communities health clinics, which will be a wonderful learning experience for me since I am a new nurse. This experience wil only allow me to become a better nurse and person.

Advertisement



28th May 2014

We miss you!!
Glad to hear you made it safe and sound! You must have been majorly jet legged! Hope you got some rest before setting out on your journeys! We miss you so much! Jaxen graduated from preschool on Sunday off to kindergarten he goes! And turned 5 the next day after grad so lots of excitement from all that! Me and your mom have been hanging out abit planning our fairy gardens lol! Mom was here over the weekend awesome visit it was stayed up till 3am one night!! Crazy!! Anyways looking forward to hearing about what your seeing and experiencing out there! Send pics to if you can!!! Love and miss you!! Xoxox

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb