Days 86 to 89 - Saskatoon


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Saskatchewan » Saskatoon
October 2nd 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Car BoatCar BoatCar Boat

Watch out Daniel Craig, Saskatoon has it's own James Bond.
Wow two updates within a couple of days ... either you guys are very lucky or I've got some spare time up my sleeve. So here we go with the Saskatoon update.

After weeks of living in dorms and talking to perfect strangers, it felt great to be heading back over to Saskatoon for some R & R with some old pals. Rich and Cei-Cei were nice enough to provide me with a comfy bed to sleep in for a couple of days - something my back really needed after all these months of lugging a duffel bag around. I may be stubborn but I refuse to travel with a stroller bag. I find there is nothing masculine about running for a bus or train with a stroller bag.

The evening of Day 1 saw us take in some Latin dancing and music. Sadly my repertoire of dance moves does not include anything from Latin America, so I decided to sit back and watch rather than get up and groove. I don’t think my impressive break-dance moves would have gone down well with the crowd, plus I was wearing my new cowboy boots and I still needed to adjust to the sudden increase in height. I did decide to keep with the night’s Latino flavour by grabbing a couple “Cuba Libres” (rum and cokes). It was a very entertaining night. After listening to a great Cuban band, I’m now ultra motivated to travel through South America.

We headed down to the small town of Outlook on Day Two. About an hour and a half drive south of south of Saskatoon, the town is located along the South Saskatchewan River and is home to the world famous Skytrail Bridge. Originally built by the Canadian Pacific Railway, it served as a railway bridge from October 23, 1912 until March 16, 1987. It was later converted into Canada’s longest pedestrian bridge in 2003. Rich and I headed out to a Slash concert later on in the evening. Thanks again for passing on your ticket Cei-Cei. Wow, talk about an amazing concert!



We spent most of Day Three walking around Saskatoon’s riverfront. After all the cruddy weather in Alberta and Quebec, I was very happy that Saskatchewan allowed me to maintain my holiday glow.



Once again, a big "Thank You" to Rich and Cei-Cei for the lovely home cooked meals and hospitality. If all goes to plan, then I'll be seeing you guys in San Francisco for some seafood and sightseeing. Rich, check the top drawer of the desk in your spare room. It's a very small "Thank You" gift. Make sure you don't lose "Shark Tooth”.... it's a keeper, plus you never know when you'll need a prop for a pirate costume.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb